Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Canada’s Great White North.

with one comment


I have often taken the north for granted. I have been in Yellowknife for nearly 20 years and I see many of the local places hundreds of times a year. I think we get use to seeing the same things day after day and forget to look at the details (as they say “we can’t see the Forrest for the trees”). I often wish I could just jump in the truck and drive an hour to the mountains or somewhere to photograph. But every so often something happens and I get reminded of the great photography opportunities we have here. I had a few of those experiences this year. Two of those experiences were during visits by Darwin Wiggett and Samantha Chrysanthou. During their first visit I brought them to a place I see maybe twice a week. We stopped for what I thought would be a few minutes and it turned into an hour or so of shooting (watch Darwin’s blog over the next few days for some samples of what he shot while there). The next day I again took them to one of my favorite place to take pictures. I just had to listen to how they spoke about things I walk by each time I am there, to get a different view on what is right in front of me. I have since been back there several times to photograph and on one of those trips I had taken the photo shown below (many people have said it may be the best one I have taken).

In October they were back, Darwin for his third time this year and Samantha for her second. This time it wasn’t about see the same place differently but, it was about see details in all places. Details that I again usually don’t pay much attention too. On the October shoot I had even more help as local photographer Dave Brosha was attending the workshop.

So, my point this week is the show things the north has to offer photographers. Things not as readily available to those in bigger southern cities.  Where else can you photograph a city skyline and drive an hour to photograph Wood Buffalo from the side of the highway. Where else can I get up and shoot sunrise, drive to shoot Buffalo, Ptarmigan, Fox and possibly Caribou, stop to photograph a river or water fall landscape, an old mine or old mine equipment and still be home for lunch. I could easily be home for dinner and then process my morning and afternoon photographs and be ready to go out and shoot the Aurora (Northern Lights) that night (Yellowknife is one of the best places on the world to see Northern Lights). The next day I can jump in a boat and easily spend days on a lake shooting eagle’s nest along the shoreline, bears fishing, fish myself (for some of the biggest lake trout and northern pike available) or again be home for dinner. Where else can I drive on paved city streets only to turn onto an ice road at a moments notice (which reminds me that I have to take some ice road pictures this winter). So there a many photographic opportunities here in the great white north. Now I just have to get you to come visit and see all these great things for yourself. If you do decide to come let me know, I may as well get you a house boat on Great Slave Lake to stay in while here (another unique opportunity not many southern city can offer).

So here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure, all taken within an hour or so of my front door. Enjoy and until next week, happy shooting.

Written by leesacrey

December 20, 2009 at 8:25 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really admire your passion for where you live Lee.

    I have heard and read this many times before, but it is worth repeating: more than anything else, you need to love a place to bring it to life through photography. I think your work resonantes so well with people because you bring that passion, not only for your craft, but for your subject.

    As always, your thoughts give me something to consider – what are the places that I love enough to share with others.

    Mike

    December 22, 2009 at 1:46 PM


Leave a Reply

