Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My iPhone Camera and Photography apps.

with one comment



Back on June 7, 2009, I went out late one afternoon with Megan and Jenna. As often happens around my place the girls asked me to go out with them to take some photographs. Jenna was using her little Fuji Point and Shoot and Megan was using my a100 DSLR. I remember it well, it was a great day with them, we took hundreds of photos. So many in fact, that Megan had to stop as she filled the 4 GB card she had in the camera. Megan and Jenna love shooting birds (Megan likes Canada Geese and Jenna is a big duck fan). We didn’t see any geese that day but, the ducks were out in force. I thought I would post this shoot as a reminded of our day.

My iPhone Camera and Photography apps.

I have seen a several articles written on the camera in Apple’s iPhone and all the applications available for it. Now that I have owned an iPhone for a number of months I thought I would join the mix of people commenting on it (as a photography tool).

First, I will start with what I have used it for and that has been as a mobile device to show people some of my photos (not including the fact that it is a phone first for me, as well as a way to check my work e-mail while on the move). I have my iPhone set to sync with my Aperture 2 Library so, any photos I have processed and any I have processed/posted on my website I now have on my phone. That was it. I had taken a few pictures with it but, I didn’t really see it as a tool/Camera I would use regularly.

I did however start downloading photography apps to try. That started to change things, my view on my iPhone as a photography tool began to widen. I understood that the 3 megapixel camera wouldn’t take pictures like my Sony a700 DSLR or a100 DSLR but, there were lots of things I could do that were both fun and creative. Things that could help my understand the creative side of this craft.

Here are a list of photography items on my iPhone;

  • Camera (of course)
  • Photos (where all photos are kept)
  • Tripod
  • Tilt Zoom
  • Camera Plus
  • Fisheye 4 free
  • Cam Zoom
  • Zoom Photo
  • Crop for free
  • HDR for free
  • Darkroom
  • Polarize
  • Filter FX
  • Camera setup
  • Auto portrait
  • iDoF Calc
  • ProPhoto
  • irunmymouth
  • G700-lite II
  • HP iPrint
  • Flickr
  • Adobe Photoshop Mobile

Of course I can access my website and my photography e-mail for it as well. What I am finding is that I can do some fun, cool things with this little device. For example, I took some photographs with my iPhone and using filters for free i could add some black vignette which i liked. After that I could do things like changing that edited photo and make it look as though I used a fisheye lens. I can do this with any photo I take or with any photo in the library stored on the iPhone. It makes me look and think about different things I can try in all my photograph. It would take me forever to go through all the apps and what they do but, because of the interesting things Apple has allowed this device to do I just had to share some thoughts on it. If  you want to see more, get on the web and check it out. As for the fun I had with it today, here are some examples.

Photo 1

Original iPhone photo

add some black vignette

add some fisheye effect

Photo 2

Megan taken with the iPhone

add some white vignette with Filter FX

add some fisheye effect with Fisheye4Free

It appears I might be having a little too much fun and all I needed was another piece of technology to take up more of my time, lol. Thanks for reading and as always, happy shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 16, 2010 at 5:07 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks like it would be a great tool Lee, and a lot of fun to boot! This defintiely seems like the kind of think you can just keep in your pocket for those on the fly moments of inspiration – kind of like the “daily snaps” that Darwin has been posting.

    I’m interested to see what kind of creations you come up with using the iPhone! Keep it up because it sounds like you’re having a lot of fun with it and it can only further your ever-expanding creativity.

    Mike

    January 18, 2010 at 12:48 PM


Leave a Reply

