Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Night Photography, there is always something to shoot.

with 2 comments


Last week I traveled to Gameti, a small aboriginal community here in the NWT. For those of you who follow my website and blog, you probably heard me mentioned Gameti before, I have really good luck shooting there. On this trip, not only did I get in some nice sunsets and landscapes but, I also did a little night photography. The above was one of those shoots. Snow and ice crystals were in the air and the lights were catching the crystals, presenting an interesting take on things. Another person from my office noticed these while outside and came in to see if I could capture the lights with my camera. I could and I really like the fun effect it portrayed. I even told a few people a UFO arrived, lol.

Night Photography, there is always something to shoot.

Being from the Northwest Territories provides me with the opportunity to see and photography the Aurora (Northern Lights) quite often. However, many nights I go out to capture the lights dancing across the sky only to find that once I am out the lights seem to fade away. So, what do I do? Well, I’ve heard and have stated many times that no matter where you are and no matter what time of day or night, there is always something to photograph. This week proved that fact once again.

While walking from the office to the hotel, in Gameti, I noticed the sky was crystal clear. I could see all the stars in the sky and even pointed out the constellations as I walked. I stated it was a good night for northern lights. Within an hour of leaving the office the sky turned cloudy and (as stated above) there were snow and ice crystals in the air. There was no way I would get any Aurora shoots tonight. So, I went back inside and just sort of hung out near the TV. Above is the start of that nights shooting. Below is another from that night.

This second shot was actually composed by my friend and co-workers as I was too short to see it through my viewfinder (I really need live view at times). It gives me an eerie kind of horror movie feeling. The web of tree branches want to tangle me in. I like the effect, it is a good thing my wireless remote works from down at my level, lol. There were things all around me, trees lit from building lights and street lights, buildings lit from exterior lighting and lots of things which could be used as silhouettes. I took around two dozen different photographs of the moody darkness. Finally, I turned to go back to the hotel and as I did I noticed the dining room lights were shining brightly through the windows and lighting the trees in front of the hotel. I had to try to capture that image and here is what I saw.

I loved the images I was able to capture on my cameras digital sensor. So, what is the point of this weeks chatter? Well, that is simple. To often we go out to capture an image, something we planned to shoot and when we get to our destination we can’t seem to find what we are looking for. So, we pack up our equipment and go home, like mother nature defeated us once again. That just shouldn’t happen. We need to learn how to see things beyond what we plan, we need to learn spontaneity when we have our camera in hand. If we don’t we will miss many great chances to capture cool and unusual images. As I said earlier “There is always something to shoot” just get out there, stay out there and have an open mind and better yet, have a photographer’s eye. As always, thanks for reading and happy shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 24, 2010 at 7:51 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Lee;
    The pictures are awesome. I would like to have a copy of the first two pictures. The coloring matches my room. love u. mom.

    loretta

    January 25, 2010 at 12:51 PM

  2. You’re so right Lee, there is always something to shoot – you just need to look. These are really great. That first one is just amazing and kind of surreal. It’s amazing what just a little light can do!

    I love the one of the hotel – serene and yet it’s a little like a scene out of The Shining or something.:)

    These are really well done!

    Mike

    January 26, 2010 at 12:40 PM


Leave a Reply

