Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Aurora continued

leave a comment »


After posting the little piece on what I do when photographing the Aurora, I was back out photographing the Aurora. This time I was determined to capture the Northern Lights while using a bigger aperture number. I wanted to show that you can take the lights while using that middle aperture range where most lenses are sharpest. Here is what I was able to capture on my first real attempt.

Taken with my Sony a700 and a Sony 11-18 mm lens. ISO 200, Shutter speed – 5 minutes and 43 seconds, Aperture f8.

Of course one or more of my three daughters always want to tag along while taking pictures and it is a great way to spend some time with them. Last night was no different, Kyla wanted to go try her luck. Here is her attempt at getting the Aurora and some Ice Road Truckers lights to make some trails. She did a great job. You can see a few others on my main website.

Taken with a Sony a100 and a Sigma 18-50 mm f2.8 @ f2.8, ISO 200 and a 59 second Shutter speed.

Written by leesacrey

February 16, 2010 at 12:20 AM

Leave a Reply

