Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My travel for work, Wekweeti.

leave a comment »


This week I was back in the community of Wekweeti. Wekweeti is a Tlicho community 195 km north of Yellowknife. On Tuesday night after returning from taking photos of the Northern Lights, I was outside and saw a bright moon just above the horizon. I had to go back inside to get my camera again. Above is the moon I saw.

On Wednesday the lights were out again. The weather was unseasonably warm and I was out at 9:00 pm to about 9:45 pm in just a t-shirt and jeans. After taking a dozen or so pictures I turned around to go back to the house I was staying in. When I turned I saw two bands of Aurora above the houses. I repositioned and got this shot.

On my short walk on Wednesday night, I went towards the beach in Wekweeti. I stopped short of getting there but, I got away from the lights of the community. I love my 11 – 18 mm lens and this is what I used here. I was happy when I was able to get this old building with the Aurora above it. I have another which is almost exactly the same, lol.

Wekweeti, as noted below the first photo, is about 195 km north of Yellowknife. It is a Tlicho community with around 140 people. It has a small sandy beach, a big hill just behind the community called the lookout, a river runs near the community and wildlife is all around. Last year we even had a Grizzly Bear come to our door while we visited there. There is a small hotel (The Snare Lake Lodge), a community store, a youth centre, a small health centre, a new hockey rink, there is the Alexis Arrowmaker School  and they are building a new church there this year. Wekweeti is the closest community to BHP’s Ekati Diamond Mine. I believe Wekweeti in the Dogrib Language means Rock Lakes. It is not accessible by road (except for two weeks a year when the ice road is open) but, has a small airport with daily scheduled flights both in and out. I have been visiting there for a few years now and every time I go, things always go well for both work and my photography habit. I will be back in April to try it all again. If you ever have the chance to go there, I would recommend it. I haven’t done any fishing there yet but, I bet it would be amazing. Did I mention, I love travel for work. Thanks for reading and Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

March 4, 2010 at 6:58 PM

Leave a Reply

