Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

What is it that you like about photography?

with 2 comments


What a great question. I was asked this question earlier this week and I immediately thought it was going to be easy to answer. Well, it wasn’t as easy as I thought.

Is it the time spent outside, just seeing the things around us? Is it actually being able to capture that special image? Is it the knowledge of the technical things my equipment can do? Is it the post processing that is most enjoyable? Is it learning to do something new, something you don’t see others doing? Is it just taking a picture of something you like regardless of what others like? Is it capturing that image that everyone wants? It could be any of those things or a combination of them. Maybe you even have some other things that make photography the thing you enjoy. For me it is a combination, I like just going out and shooting things around me. I like being able to use my camera controls to capture what my mind sees in a scene (not necessarily what my eye sees but, what I feel the scene represents). I actually the work after the camera has done it’s work, I like post processing and how subtle changes can make an image very different. I enjoy learning new things and seeing other photographers ideas on a scene or the different ways they can use their equipment. I also love taking certain things just for myself but, when I get an image that everyone seems to comment about that is even better. Sometimes all the comments are not good but, they still offer me a learning experience which is great also. Although, the whole critique thing does that some getting use to.

I enjoy getting out with others and taking pictures. I will go out of my way to spend time with others doing this craft. I enjoy organizing photography events for myself and others. I even enjoy just learning and talking about camera gear. So, I guess for me it is everything about photograph I like. I enjoy all this so much that there is some current discussion about some kind to tour business. A business which will provide photographers a look at the great white north. It would provide me an opportunity to continue all aspects of photography with a variety of different people. People who will have a wide range of skill. In the mean time, I am now a little curious.I didn’t answer the question right away, I didn’t have the quick answer I thought I would. So I am wondering how would you answer the question? So let me ask, what is it that you like about photography? I look forward to the responses and as I always say, thanks for reading and Happy Shooting.

To show I will take pictures of anything – here are some samples;

This was taken at the Ice falls near Yellowknife’s Back Bay Cemetery. This is taken while looking straight up. The tree that is seen grows out and then turn skyward. I liked how it looked so I shoot it. Shot with Konica Minolta 7D and a Sigma 18 – 50 mm @ 18 mm, F16, 1/3 of a second, ISO 100.

This was taken during a business trip to Gameti, NWT. WHile I was out shooting my usual landscape type photos I came to these trees which had been cut down and were laying in this pattern on the ground. I liked how they looked so I shoot them. Sony a700 with a Sigma 18 – 50 mm @ 18 mm, f16, 1/10 of a second, ISO 400.

This is another taken on one of the Ice Falls trips. I was climbing up the side of the falls and while trying to see where Dale and the girls were I saw this birch tree next to the trail I was on. I really like the patterns on the tree bark. Sony a700 with Minolta 70 – 210 mm @ 75 mm, f4, 1/80 of a second, ISO 200.

We had a family and friends outing on Easter weekend. I had Jody Hodder take me down the shore line of Kam Lake so I could take a few pictures. I really like things in the foreground, there are what appear to be wolf tracks right in front of where I am standing (although you can’t see them well in the photo). Sony a700 with a Sigma 18 – 50 mm @ 18 mm, f16, 1/5 of a second,  ISO 200

Written by leesacrey

April 11, 2010 at 8:52 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first picture of the tree growing out is awesome.

    loretta

    April 12, 2010 at 10:57 AM

  2. Love the detail of the bark in the 3rd shot. I was recently shooting some Birch trees myself, so it’s nice to have an excellent shot like yours to compare to 🙂

    I’ll make sure to post a few soon for you to have a look at! Great work!

    Mike

    April 13, 2010 at 11:35 AM


Leave a Reply

