Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My Recovery – May 1, 2010

with one comment


Here we are at day six and there is still no shortage of things to photograph. I spent about forty-five minutes alone at the Giant Boat Launch here in Yellowknife. I thought the ice on the lake looked interesting, the way it was melting from the shoreline out attracted me, I grab my camera and was snapping away in seconds. I was using two filters while shooting there. The first was a circular polarizer and the second was a Cokin P154 three stop neutral density filter, I love how the polarizer allows me to see below the water’s surface and how it brings all the colour to life. By adding the three stop ND filter I can leave my shutter open long which also helps those colours. Letting the shutter stay open allows that colour to absorb longer making it more vibrant. Later in the day we went out to the Sand Pits. Dale’s brother and family went as well. They brought the kids Quad, the small dirt bike, and some kites. I of course, brought a camera. There were lots of pictures taken there as well but, I will leave those for another day. Here is a sample the ice and melting shoreline at the Boat Launch. Enjoy, thanks for being here and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

May 2, 2010 at 12:10 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love shots 2,3 and 5 here Lee. Amazing details in the first two – number 3 in particular is reminiscent of some of Darwin or Wayne Simpson’s work on Abraham Lake. Beautiful. I like how the ice in shot 2 looks a bit like smoke or steam. Kind of has a mysterious aura to it. Keep it up!

    Mike

    May 4, 2010 at 5:40 AM


Leave a Reply

