Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My Recovery – May 7, 2010

with 2 comments


A dozen posts in a dozen days, I have arrived at day twelve of the My Recovery posting plan. The past two days have been shot at a location picked up someone other than myself (Great locations Sherry, thanks) and that made my shooting very interesting. This post didn’t have the location decided but, the subject matter. Hendrik Boesch, who along with Kathrin Rathmann came to Yellowknife during Easter long weekend, picked the subject of todays post. Hendrik suggested I take some more Aurora photos and post them here. I checked with Aurora Reports and it seemed that it would be a good night for an Aurora shoot. Also, I need to mention that over the past year I have gotten quite a bit of help with Aurora photography. A couple of times I have been out with Dave Brosha and those outings were a great help in improving my skills. So, I thought to thank Dave for his assistance, I would try something that he is known to do from time to time. Silhouettes, Dave often has a silhouette of himself in his pictures. It adds something to make those photographs stand out and it provides something to assist the eye with the scale of the backgrounds. Dave does this very well. In two of the photos below I tried to do the silhouette thing as a shout out to Dave. Also, while shooting the sunset photos on May 5th, Dave was also out at the same time shooting the same sunset. His location was just down the lakeshore from where I was. If you click here you can see the great images Dave had taken that evening. Below are 8 images from the latest batch. I hope you enjoy them. Hendrik, I hope they remind you and Kathrin, of the time you were here and that may help you decide to come back for a visit, we had a great time when you were here. Thanks all, for your continued reading and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

May 8, 2010 at 10:44 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Lee – I was curious if you’re consciously using the ‘golden mean’ when you take your photographs – or if it’s just a coincidence that so many of your photos (and Dave Brosha’s as well) seems to beautifully illustrate this principle.
    I love your work – another shining example of the talent in our family. Nice to see you’re sharing your God given talent with the world! I’m very proud of you.
    With love-
    Jackie

    Jackie Stoyles

    May 8, 2010 at 12:09 PM

    • Hi Jackie,

      I can’t say it is the “Golden Mean” I follow, it is more “The Rule of thirds” that I try and follow (although there are times I don’t do that either). The Rule of thirds and the Golden Mean (or Golden Rectangle as it is sometimes called) are loosely related. I always try and remember that having your subject in the center of your image is less pleasing to the eye then having it in one of the thirds. I can also follow that rule for any shape photograph (not just rectangles). Here is a good site for reading about composition http://photoinf.com/. Remember what Ansel Adams once said “There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs” Thanks for the nice comment.

      Lee

      leesacrey

      May 8, 2010 at 1:25 PM


Leave a Reply

