Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

News from the Workshop Junkie

with 3 comments


What a great day of photography May 22, 2010 was! The famous Dave Brosha had a workshop and of course I had to attend. Dave had the group meet at Tim Horton’s for coffee and a quick discussion on what the day would hold. Introductions were done and then we were off to photography. We split into smaller groups for each of the four field sessions (everyone had to be in a different group each time). We covered four different topics, Nature/Landscape Photography, Portrait Photography (in an outdoor setting), Detail Photography and finally we did some work on lighting and flash photography. 7:30 am to 5:00 pm with a lunch break in the middle, what a great way to spend the day. I would highly recommend attending workshops. Workshops, for the money, provide you with a much better tool to become a good photographer then any piece of equipment you can buy. So go and look for any workshop or seminar in your area, pay the money and be prepared to absorb as much info as you can. You will be amazed at how much your eyes will be opened. You can watch Dave’s website and Facebook page for updates on what he has coming up. Also, remember that John E. Marriott will be in Yellowknife on August 21st and 22nd, 2010 for a great two-day event. If you’re interested in the John E. Marriott workshop let me know and I will send you more information. As for Dave Brosha’s workshops seek them out  -Dave does a great job, he is a great guy and great photographer and better yet he is always willing to help others improve. Great job yesterday Dave, I am glad I was able to attend and look forward to the next one. You rock. And for those of you visiting here is a sample of what I shot yesterday. Thanks for reading and as always Happy Shooting.

My shot of Kyle Thomas (Kyle of YK Online).

Amanda, another attendee photographing a scene.

Rusting area on a piece of mining equipment

The changing colour of a retired Mining Truck

Peeling paint on a Truck fender and vented hood

Self Portrait – Taken in a tunnel – There is a wireless flash on a small stand directly below and behind me to light the dark tunnel wall. To my left is a second wireless flash aimed to bounce light off the tunnel ceiling and directly ahead is my camera with a small flash used to trigger the wireless flashes.

Written by leesacrey

May 23, 2010 at 7:48 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Photo series Lee. I love workshops too, they are a great way of learning. I attended my first photo workshop in 1986 with Courtney Milne http://www.courtneymilne.com. I just booked my second workshop with Darwin Wiggett http://www.darwinwiggett.com for next month.

    johnfuji

    May 24, 2010 at 1:35 AM

  2. Lee those are really cool! I like pictures of old stuff just left around,I think it all tells a story. Awesome! You are, of course still Handsome. ha!

    loretta beck

    May 24, 2010 at 9:06 AM

  3. Great stuff Lee. I like the peeling paint details. Not too much for workshops around here at the moment sadly – though I just missed a Darwin Wiggett workshop in Burlignton! Perhaps I should take a page from yuor book and organize something myself! Great post.

    Mike

    May 28, 2010 at 2:15 PM


Leave a Reply

