Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Ok, this shoot may cost some serious cash!

with 2 comments


June 8, 2010 – At around 10:00 pm I leave my place to meet Dave Brosha and Nigel Fearon at Tim Horton’s. The plan is to go out and photograph some wildlife or birds. The reason, to take pictures but, to also give Dave some time with his new Canon 100 – 400 mm lens. A couple of weeks ago I was out with another friend (George Blandford) for much the same reason. He had just purchased a Nikkor 70 – 300 mm lens and wanted to try it out. So it appears that the thing to do is buy a new zoom lens and go shoot waterfowl with it. I have a 75 – 300 mm lens but, I am not a big fan. It just isn’t sharp enough for my liking. It seems I have come to a place where my understanding off and ability to use better glass is winning out over the cost to invest in those better lens. Because of that I use my old Minolta 70 – 210 mm f4 lens. It is sharper and much clearer than to 75 – 300 mm. The problem though is it only goes to 210 mm. So, after once again being out and shooting more waterfowl, I will need to drop some cash, more serious cash, on some better equipment. So, thanks Dave, Nigel and George for going out and shooting with me but, this shoot will cost some serious cash. Of the 157 photos I had taken, I kept only 11. Of those 11, I have posted just 3. Have a look below and you can see some of what Dave, Nigel and I saw. Thanks for checking out the blog and as always Happy Shooting.

A Northern Shoveler landing in the bull rushes.

As Nigel and I were photographing this Red-Necked Grebe, the Grebe dove, stayed under for a few seconds and then pop up right in front of me. Please excuse the green tree needle distorted to the right.

I seem to photograph the Red-winged Blackbirds in the Niven Lake area so much that I named this one Jed.

Written by leesacrey

June 10, 2010 at 8:45 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice shots Lee! Particularly the one of the impressive wings.

    Nigel Fearon

    June 10, 2010 at 9:26 AM

  2. These look great to me Lee. I love the wing spread in the first shot. Nice detail and the symmetry is perfectly captured.

    Mike

    June 15, 2010 at 10:03 AM


Leave a Reply

