Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Memorial Park and Leech Brook – Newfoundland Trip 2010 – Part II

with 3 comments


I am in Central Newfoundland this week (Grand Falls-Windsor to be exact). This was home for me for most of my childhood so it is nice to come back and look at the things and places I remember. Two of those places are Memorial Park (in front of my old elementary school) and Leech Brook (a place where we went swimming about 5 minutes west of town). Memorial Park was fun to visit not only because I remember going there when I was young but, also because Kyla (my oldest daughter) just finished a war history course in high school and just returned from a trip where she went to Holland to take part in the 65th anniversary of the liberation of that country. Leech Brook is a pretty famous swimming hole for those of us from GFW and I had a few requests to photograph it from people who have moved away. The problem I thought would be to get there when no people would be swimming. So, this morning I was up at 6:30 am, got dressed and got all my camera equipment ready and then off we went (Dale was going with me). By 7:15 we had arrived and it was a beautiful morning there. The trail seemed much shorter than I remembered but, Leech Brook itself was just as I pictured it. I love it. There was no one around, so photographing was easy (although it might have been nice to get a shot of someone diving off the second falls). There were signs of people being there the night before but all was quiet this morning, just squirrels, birds, mosquitos and us. So, for those who want to see these two locations (to see if they look as you remember or if you’re seeing them for the first time) here they are. Stay tuned for part III which will include Church Road Park and maybe a few other locations. As always thanks for stopping by and Happy Shooting.

Leech Brook – down stream from the first falls (the area where the smaller kids swim).

Leech Brook – looking towards the first falls.

Leech Brook – the brook just below the first falls.

Leech Brook – The first falls.

Leech Brook – The second falls.

Written by leesacrey

July 8, 2010 at 7:02 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful locations Lee! The last shot is really amazing. I love shooting waterfalls, so this one really works for me. Keep ’em coming!

    Mike

    July 8, 2010 at 7:56 AM

  2. Lee , I love your photos. I did a search for Leech Brook as I have a blog about my childhood in Grand Falls among other things. I have copied your pictures but have given you credit for them. I will also refer others to your post in my blog. Do you have any objections to this? If so I will remove everything at once.

    grandfallswoman

    January 7, 2012 at 9:49 AM

    • Hi Judith, I am glad you enjoy the photos. I remember Leech Brook well. One thing I will says is I seem to remember the hike to the second falls being much longer then the four or five minutes it took me a year ago. It appears that is your experience as well. I really enjoyed your blog post about Leech Brook and thank you for providing the link to my post here. You use of my photos is fine, now if I could just that type of request every time some decided to use some images I post. Your post makes note that the photos are mine and that use is fine with me. It is always nice to read someone else view of home.

      leesacrey

      January 7, 2012 at 4:28 PM


Leave a Reply

