Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

A weekend with John E. Marriott

with 6 comments


This past weekend I was fortunate enough to have organized a workshop. The Photographer that led the workshop was John E. Marriott, a wildlife photographer from Canmore, Alberta. John arrived in Yellowknife on Thursday, along with his wife Jenn, and stayed with my family and I until Monday afternoon. Saturday and Sunday were workshop days, where myself and six other aspiring photographers got to listen to John and shoot with him. We spent four hours in a classroom, hanging on every word spoken. We were trying to absorb as much of John’s knowledge as possible in that short window of time. Saturday evening we were in the field for another five hours, getting some good one on one instruction. Sunday morning we were back outside, starting at 5:30 am and continuing until 9:30 am (another four hours of hands on photography lessons). Most of the group even continued on their own that morning. At 4:00 pm we were back in the classroom for some good discussion and some critiquing of our work. It was a good learning experience for all of us. For me there were several WOW moments which will certainly help me become better at the craft. So here are a few samples of what I took that day. Each has a story and regardless of what anyone feels about what I show here, for me the learning experience was worth all the effort. So, thanks to John and all the attendees. It was a great event and I will now start planning the next workshop (or the next four workshops, lol). Thanks for stopping by and as always, Happy Shooting.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pictures 5 and 8 are absolutely stunning, Lee! 8 is my absolute favorite, the reflections of the clouds, the fog creeping up, really great shot.

    Did you use a Singh-Ray filter on that shot?

    Hendrik

    August 17, 2010 at 9:20 PM

    • Hey Hendrik,

      On number 8 I used a Cokin P Circular Polarizer, a Cokin P154 3 stop ND and a Cokin P121S 3 stop ND Soft Grad. On number 5 I again used the Cir Polarizer and the P154 but, i stacked a blue/yellow filter on top of those to add some interesting colour.

      Lee

      leesacrey

      August 17, 2010 at 9:37 PM

  2. Love them….absolutely beautiful photos Lee!!

    Sherry

    August 18, 2010 at 4:54 AM

  3. These are great Lee! Well done for sure. The first thing I noticed was real sense of depth to these photos, especially in shots like 2 and 3.

    #5 is my favourite though!

    Awesome work!

    Mike

    August 18, 2010 at 7:23 AM

  4. Excellent images Lee! #2 is my favourite.

    johnfuji

    August 20, 2010 at 5:43 PM

  5. Beautiful!!! they are all very nice. I think I should get some cameras and take some work shops too, this looks like so much fun!

    Molly Subramaniam

    September 6, 2010 at 11:45 PM


Leave a Reply

