Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

A change in composition – Digital makes it easier!

with 2 comments


I am involved in a local photo club here in Yellowknife and the past two meetings we focused (excuse the pun) on composition. Today I decided that I would show the advantages the digital world has brought us. Recently, I had taken a picture of the old Giant Mine Head Frame with a nice pink coloured sky above it, I am going to use this photo as an example. The first post below is the original post of the photo. Below that I have posted four different versions of the same photo. Each is cropped and composed a little differently. Today’s digital cameras and files allow us to make changes to images without having to print multiple copies or have some photo lab do different post-processing things to the image. We can now do those ourselves with computer software. So, have a look at the different images below and send me a comment on which one you like and why. I think you may find what others have to say interesting. So that is my little exercise for today, thanks for taking the time to stop by and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Original Photo

 

Composition change 1

 

Composition change 2

 

Composition change 3

 

Composition change 4

Written by leesacrey

October 20, 2010 at 1:48 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good points Lee. Digital certainly does make things easier. I am just processing some shots froma trip to Illarney Parovincial Park here in Ontario, where I shot both digital and film. I ended up having the film shots scanned to digital so I could do a little post processing of my own in the end.

    I was a bit torn on this at first, but I think I like the long and skinny #4 the best. It seems to offer the most opportunity for my eye to wander about and take it all in. Though I have to admit I love the original as well – the negative space is great and the colour is awesome.

    Mike

    October 21, 2010 at 6:31 AM

  2. Hey Lee, if you’d had the same light in the sky for composition change 2 or 3, they’d be my favourite compositions. Good stuff, see you later today!!

    John

    John E Marriott

    October 21, 2010 at 11:11 AM


Leave a Reply

