Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Baker Creek Chalets – SNAP! Photo Seminars – Part III

with 2 comments


Sunday, October 24, 2010, the last day of the workshop. As usual, I am up at 5:30 am getting ready. I don’t go for breakfast today, instead I work on my back-up drive and some image files. I go out at 7:00 am to meet the group. We are all going to Lake Louise this morning. We leave at 7:30 am and arrive at Lake Louise about 7:45 am. It is overcast but, it is still a beautiful morning. Everyone is looking for a place to photography from. I have an image in mind and I am going to wait for just the right light. I didn’t get exactly what I want but, I try for the shot anyway. I want to capture the left side of Lake Louise, still showing the end of the Lake in front of me but, I want to have one of the peaks of Fairview Mountain in the left side of my image. The fog and clouds are not cooperating. I still wait and finally I get a shot, not the picture I could see in my little brain but, the elements are mostly there. I think I took thirty photos just to get that one (that means I delete 96.7% of my images, way better the 99% John suggested, lol). Pat, another Photographer in the group was shooting details in the mountains in front of us. She was using a 200 – 400 mm lens and I was looking at her photos. It wasn’t stuff I normally shoot but, it was interesting. I thought of some images that Samantha had done of trees through a fog and combined the use of a long lens like Pat and the eerie trees in a fog type mood that Samantha had captured. I got a shot of the trees on the mountain side that felt like the right shot. I then tried to capture the mountain tops through the clouds and fog, things that I normally wouldn’t consider. I will admit it was fun to shoot. It was soon time to put or camera gear away and head back to Baker Creek. We all needed to be checked out by 11:00 am, we would then do a quick slide show of some of our images from the past few days. After that was a great farewell lunch, some quick goodbyes and we were all on our way. It was a great event and a great weekend. If your here reading this I suggest you watch for future SNAP! Photography Workshops and attend, it will surely improve your photography, whatever your skill level is.  As for me, well I learned quite a bit and it should make me better as I move forward. For now, here are four more images. There that I mentioned above but, to start there is an image of the upper falls in Johnson Canyon. For the waterfalls shot I had to get down to the bottom of the canyon and shoot from there. I even had to put and extra filter on just to stop the spray from ruining my shot. I got set-up and just when I was ready to take the picture I pulled the front filter out. I still did get some mist on the filters and lens but, I got the shot I wanted. So, that is what happened this weekend. I kept eighty-three images, you have seen twelve here (including these four below). As for what I did after the workshop was over, well you will have to wait a day or so to see what else happen. For now I have to say, stayed tuned, thanks for reading and as always Happy Shooting.


 

Written by leesacrey

October 25, 2010 at 11:13 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good stuff, Lee, it was great to see you down here! Looking forward to seeing the ‘other’ stuff.

    John E Marriott

    October 26, 2010 at 9:30 AM

  2. Hope you enjoyed the Rockies.Fabulous shots!!! Falls -Johnson canyon-WOW!!!!

    Sean Bateman

    October 26, 2010 at 12:09 PM


Leave a Reply

