Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

After Baker Creek – An afternoon with John E. Marriott

with 2 comments


If you have been here and read the last three post on SNAP! Photo Seminars – Baker Creek Chalet, then this is a short story on what happened after the seminar is over and we all have headed for home. John E. Marriott suggests that Dale and I go into Canmore to spend some time with Jenn, his wife, and him. Dale and Jenn can hang out and spend some time together while John and I go look for some Moose to photography. How could I say no to such a great offer? So, Dale and I head to Canmore. We make a quick stop in Banff to have quick look around and finally arrive in Canmore about 3:15 pm. Jenn has just arrived home and we are quickly making plans. John and I load camera gear into John’s car and we head out. John takes me to a fairly quiet area where he has seen Moose, Elk, Deer, Wolves and even a Grizzly or two. We see two groups of Deer, some sheep but, after driving around for quite some time we didn’t see any Moose. By now the light is starting to change and we know it is time to head back to Canmore. We are almost back when John spots a Moose just outside of the trees near a clearing beside the road. We stop. I grab my camera and quickly check the settings. Not quite enough light to get everything just right but, this may be my one and only shot at getting a Moose. It is a cow and a calf and they let us get close enough for me to get a few images. Then back in the car and head to Canmore. It is now around 7:00 pm. We go for dinner (which was fantastic) and right after Dale and I start heading to Edmonton. I decided we will go east toward Calgary and then north on highway 2 to Edmonton. It rains and snows all the way, causing traffic to slow down to an abnormally slow speed for highway 2. We are getting by other vehicles and we are doing that while traveling only 80 km/h at times. We arrive in Edmonton at midnight and quickly get a room and crash for the night. This morning (October 25, 2010) we flew back to Yellowknife and our awaiting jobs. What a great weekend at Baker Creek and what a way to end it, an afternoon of looking for and shooting wildlife with John. So that brings me to the end. Here are four shoots taken after the seminar. With only twenty-one hours of sleep in five nights I feel pretty tired but, I feel renewed at the same time. I can’t wait to do it again. Maybe next year I will go to Fire and Ice Workshop with Darwin Wiggett. As John once told me “You can sleep when your dead”, lol. Enjoy the shots below, thanks for hanging out and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

October 27, 2010 at 8:00 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy for you, that you got your shot of the moose.

    loretta Beck

    October 27, 2010 at 5:13 PM

  2. Great stuff Lee. I enjoyed reading about your trip.

    johnfuji

    November 5, 2010 at 12:37 PM


Leave a Reply

