Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Lest We Forget 2010 – Part I

with 2 comments


There is something that has been bothering me as of late. That something is how early we start our Christmas celebrations. Don’t get me wrong I love Christmas and every year I get myself something very cool, lol. My problem is that , here in Canada, we have Remembrance Day (November 11). Remembrance Day is a holiday set aside to remember the fallen from the world’s conflicts –  those who sacrificed themselves so others could have the lives we have. There were also those on the other side of those conflicts, not all agreed with the cause (or they didn’t know all the reasons) why they were fighting. I have been trying hard to remember the fallen on both side in the past few years. Being from Canada and from Newfoundland and Labrador (which wasn’t a part of Canada during both world wars), I am especially thankful for what Soldiers from this country have done. Anyway, back to what is bothering me. It seems we skip over this important holiday, we just pass it by chasing the Christmas dollars. It drives me crazy. I think it should be a punishable offense to put out any Christmas decorations or have Christmas sales and events before Remembrance Day. I am also hoping that my generation isn’t the last to remember what was sacrificed for us. So last May, you may remember me writing about a school trip my oldest daughter went on. She was in Europe visiting Battlefields for both world wars. She also was in the Netherlands for the celebration of the 65th anniversary of the liberation of that country. Kyla, has agreed to let me show some of the pictures she had taken while on her trip. I will post three a day for the next five days. So, when you visit here please remember those who fought to make the world a safer place, so you and I could live with our freedom. Oh and be sure to wear your Poppy proud. And finally thank those who are serving now, their work is still a sacrifice for others. If you disagree with my point of view that is ok, I can deal with being right. Thanks for stopping by and as always happy shooting.

Newfoundland and Labrador Memorial at Beaumont Hamel.

 

Passchendaele Trenches from WWI.

 

The sign to the Passchendaele Memorial.

Written by leesacrey

November 7, 2010 at 8:25 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Lee for speaking out! Your mother is proud. Christmas in October and November drives me crazy as well. MADNESS!
    Why does it have to be two months to buy things,sure it only takes a day to do all your shopping.

    loretta Beck

    November 8, 2010 at 5:08 AM

  2. Lee I agree with you, they seem to forget every holiday in between and go directly to Christmas. I was so shocked when I went into one store in September and they were putting out the Christmas decorations already, I said to the employee that it ruins Christmas and that they forget all of the other holiday’s in between,and that the middle of Nov. or beginning of Dec. is plenty of time to start all the Christmas stuff. She agreed with me but what could she do but do her job. They are just money crazy and also forget the true meaning of Christmas for the all mighty dollar.

    Molly Subramaniam

    November 11, 2010 at 10:39 PM


Leave a Reply

