Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

New Year’s Eve 2010 – The last pictures I will take in 2010

with 3 comments


Wow, it has been a while since my last blog post. It sucks to have to rebuild an entire photo library. Thanks everyone for continuing to visit my blog, I will make sure you don’t wait this long between post again.

Tonight, we (Dale, the Girls, the Dog and myself) went out to watch the New Year’s Eve Fireworks. It was a little cold but, after 21 years in Yellowknife we expect that. I have to say I usually struggle with Fireworks shots. Tonight I tried a few different settings, hoping that my experimenting would pay off. I did find/learn something interesting! I had my camera capture both RAW and JPEG images (something I usually do). What I found was that for tonight’s Fireworks shots the JPEG images captured a lot of the smoke and the RAW images captured much less. I found the JPEG images were much worse than the same images RAW file. I can’t explain why (yet) so, if you have any thoughts send them to me or comment here on the blog. So, based on my findings  here are a few processed RAW images. I had fun taking them and I hope you enjoy them as well. Again, thanks for following along and as always Happy shooting. Oh yeah, stay tuned for my next post, My top ten images from 2010. Happy New Year and all the best for 2011.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by leesacrey

January 1, 2011 at 1:01 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Lee. I found the same thing with mine. I take mine in Raw and JPEG at the same time and found my JPEG’s had a lot more smoke in them. I am not sure why either but I think it has something to do with the compression; but not 100% sure.

    Martin Male

    January 1, 2011 at 1:09 AM

  2. Was just googling aurora photography for tips and saw your blog – we saw these fireworks from farther away and didn’t attempt shooting them. Yours are great!

    Louise

    January 1, 2011 at 4:04 PM

  3. Awesome fireworks shots Lee. Whenever I try to do those, the highlights get blown way out. These are well balanced n exposure and nicely composed. Great work!

    Mike

    January 6, 2011 at 9:22 AM


Leave a Reply

