Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Panoramic Photographs – Can I actually take them?

with 4 comments


That is kind of a trick question. Why a trick question? Well, a few months back I purchased a new camera body to back-up my Sony a700 (because it seems as it will take forever for Sony to replace my a700). The camera I purchased was a Sony SLT a55. The a55 does some cool stuff. It shoots at 10 fps, it does HDR in camera, it has a night image mode, it shoots HD video, it has built-in GPS and it shoots panoramic images in both 2D and 3D. I decided that I should explore the panoramic mode a little more. So, this afternoon Dale, Jenna and I went for a quick drive. I brought my a55 with an 11 – 18 mm lens and my a700 with a 120 – 400 mm lens (in case we needed to get some quick wild life shots). I also brought my new ball mount which allows me to mount the camera and rotate it 360 degrees for panoramic images. There are a couple of downfalls, the biggest of those (at least for me) is a loss of manual control. Panoramic mode basically shoots in auto mode. The second problem, again for me, is I can only shoot in jpeg (no RAW images in pano mode). Other than that it works really great and considering I might never get to trying to stitch images together, it may provide me my only panoramic shots. So, what do you think of the shots? I am posting three here (be gentle they are my first ones). Luckily I can still use my filters while I shoot these. Leave some comments about what you do or don’t like about these shots and hopefully they get better in the future. Thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 16, 2011 at 6:20 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice pic’s Lee, have you tried doing the up/down panoramic settings yet? I’ve managed to get some wicked frost covered trees from trunk to tip.

    T. Grunerud

    January 16, 2011 at 7:23 PM

    • I haven’t tried the vertical panoramic shots yet Trace but, that gives me something to do tomorrow.

      leesacrey

      January 16, 2011 at 8:27 PM

  2. Those are beautiful..

    loretta Beck

    January 16, 2011 at 7:30 PM

  3. I like ’em, the sun in the first one really stands out!
    I’ve been considering trying my hand at pano lately, and this might be just the push to try something new!

    cherrytrix

    January 17, 2011 at 10:55 PM


Leave a Reply

