Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Another Business Day trip – I have a hard work life!

with 4 comments


This morning I was up and getting ready for work like any other day but, today was going to be a travel day for me and one of my partners. We were going to spend the day in Wha Ti, a small Tli Cho community about 164 km (by air) northwest of Yellowknife. It has a population of around 497. I had never been to Wha Ti before and with only five hours on the ground, there shouldn’t have been much time for sight-seeing. Fortunately, the work went extremely well and we were provided with a tour of the area. We spent some time driving around the community and out on the winter road. We had planned on visiting some water falls a few kilometres from the community but, we weren’t really prepared to make the trek through the snow to their location. Just as we were going to start to head back to Wha Ti, we happened to see a fox on the side of the road. The fox was very cooperative and allowed me to get close enough to get a few shots. We headed back, finished a few reports we needed and then off to the airport. Of course, our plane was going to be late so, while we waited I took a few more shots. One was another panoramic of the moon rising just above the tree tops. Another was the coloured sky (from sunset) with the trees silhouetted. For that shot I used the Hand Held twilight mode on my Sony a55 and I think the feature will work great for times when it is getting dark and I don’t have a tripod with me. Anyway, enough of my rambling. Here are some images from today. Thanks for looking and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 19, 2011 at 7:52 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow – what great colors and what a sweet face! I love foxes – and am jealous of your job!

    Deina Zartman

    January 19, 2011 at 8:12 PM

  2. Wasn’t that little fox just the kindest fellow for you to hang around and be patient while you snapped some pics of him?! I wish the wildlife here was that easygoing.
    Love the moonrise pano, yet another to make me want to get out and try for myself!
    and the sunset was just wonderful too. A great capture of that hard to catch color.

    cherrytrix

    January 19, 2011 at 8:24 PM

  3. […] An excellent series of winter shots from the Northwest Territories by my friend Lee Sacrey. This morning I was up and getting ready for work like any other day but, today was going to be a travel day for me and one of my partners. We were going to spend the day in Wha Ti, a small Tli Cho community about 164 km (by air) northwest of Yellowknife. It has a population of around 497. I had never been to Wha Ti before and with only five hours on the ground, there shouldn’t have been much time for sight-seeing. Fortunately, the work went extre … Read More […]

  4. The fox is great!
    But the panorama with the moon behind the trees is really awesome!

    Hendrik

    January 23, 2011 at 4:03 PM


Leave a Reply

