Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Wha Ti Aurora via the Ice Road.

with 2 comments


Earlier this week a friend (and business partner) and I drove the Wha Ti Winter Road (Ice Road). We had some consulting work to do there and thought it would be better to drive then fly. We could also, arrive whenever we wanted instead of waiting most of the morning for the plane. So, we were off at 7 am. Neither of us had ever travelled the Wha Ti Winter Road before so it was a bit of an adventure. We had packed for a couple of days on the assumption our work load would increase. We ended up staying overnight (just one night) and at around midnight we thought we should go outside of town to see the northern lights. It wasn’t a great show but, with a longer shutter speed I was sure my camera to capture the aurora better than what we were seeing with our eyes. I was right. The lights were much more visible on the photos then they were to the naked eye but, as I said, it wasn’t a great light show. Although not my best aurora images, I promised I would post some here. The three images below are what we saw that night. Thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

 

 

Written by leesacrey

January 27, 2011 at 11:08 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lucky guy when photographing them. I am living in the Southern part of Finland and here I have not seen them.

    Awesome, awesome…

    sartenada

    January 27, 2011 at 11:31 PM

  2. I too am envious of your access to the aurora Lee. I haven’t seen them yet – maybe someday 🙂 These are definitely some nice shots. I like the second one in particular as it seems to keep my eyes moving around, and there is more depth to it. Nice!

    Mike

    January 28, 2011 at 7:37 AM


Leave a Reply

