Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

From the Ice on Great Slave Lake

leave a comment »


This morning I got up before sunrise (don’t freak out Sunrise was at 8:56 am here in Yellowknife) and drove along the Ice Road toward the Community of Dettah. Near Dettah are two small islands that have some interesting rock formations. Each year when the Winter Road opens I visit these two islands with camera in hand. This morning I had hoped to capture a beautiful sunrise but, the clouds that sat near the horizon had other plans. Once I was at the islands, I decided to try  to capture some of the rock formations and colours. I got a few images I thought I would like. On my way back to Yellowknife I took a quick detour along Yellowknife Bay  water front and took another shot of the city from under the wing of a small airplane. Bush Pilots helped build this area and I thought it would be a cool image to help remember our city’s past. A little side note, at the house boat next to the plane, a man was quietly stacking firewood. I asked if it was ok to photograph there and he said it was fine. With the man was a medium size dog and when I was all ready to snap my first image, I felt something poke me from behind. I turned around to see the dog standing behind me and at my feet he dropped stick. Of course I threw it and for the next 5 minutes or so I would continue to get a little nudge from my new friend. It was a good morning. Here are a few of the images, enjoy and as always thanks for following along and Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

February 5, 2011 at 2:42 PM

Leave a Reply

