Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Wind-Swept Aurora

with 4 comments


It was an unbelievable night in Yellowknife tonight. I was bringing the girls home from the movie store and looked at the outside temperature gauge in the truck and it actually was reading +1 degrees. +1, are you kidding me, that is wicked awesome. There was quite a breeze blowing which put a very slight damper of the temperature but, not much. I had been speaking to a friend earlier in the evening and said it might be a good night for Aurora photography and sure enough the lights were out. What made the Aurora most interesting tonight was the slight cloud cover and the rate at which the wind was blowing those clouds through the night sky. So, braving the +1 weather, lol, Kyla, Bella the Dog and I embarked on a journey to the Giant Mine Boat Launch and the Yellowknife Golf Course. A journey to once again catch the Northern Lights dance across the sky and tonight they had a dance partner, the wind-swept clouds. It was fun to go out and we stayed out for about an hour. The sky was beautiful and I even decided to capture an image of the clouds blowing over the city. I was happy once again. Below are some sample of what I captured. Enjoy and as always Happy Shooting.

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wind Swept Aurora…

    […]leave a coment. It was an unbelievable night in Yelowknife tonight. I was bringing the girls home from the[…]…

    Pro Blogger News

    February 26, 2011 at 6:45 AM

  2. Awesome stuff, Lee…geez, I should have just flown up yesterday, eh!

    John E Marriott

    February 26, 2011 at 8:26 AM

  3. Really love your pictures… wish I was there with you. Wishing you a happy Birthday as well..lu mom.

    loretta Beck

    February 26, 2011 at 8:55 PM

  4. Nice stuff Lee! I like the 3rd one in particular. My eye gets drawn in and down and then bounces back up again. I also love the cloud streak in the last shot.

    Mike

    February 28, 2011 at 11:53 AM


Leave a Reply

