Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My Friend Moose

with one comment


On Friday, I decided to drive to Wha Ti for a client meeting. The time I would spend there would be client development time so, no billing would need to be done. That made the trip easier for me from a photography stand point, I now could take some extra time on the way to photograph anything interesting. I had no real-time requirements, no set arrival or departure times, no real schedule, as long as I was able to get a few meetings completed life would be good. So, en route to Wha Ti, about two hours into the trip, I spotted something moving just to the left of the winter road. It was a Moose! I quickly turned the truck around hoping my new friend didn’t run off. Making sure to remember the John Marriott lessons of always being ready, I quickly grab my camera and snapped a couple of pictures. My friend started trotting away, I moved the truck quickly as I could get an image from a different angle. My friend was getting a little unhappy, I appeared to be blocking her from crossing the road. We played this she moves, he moves thing for a few minutes and then she disappeared into the forest. I was very happy she paid me a visit, after all three days earlier on a drive from Fort Smith I saw only two Spruce Grouse (and that drive goes partly through Wood Buffalo Park). I continued on to the Wha Ti falls and then to the community for some work related talks. Five hours later I was back on the road (along with my friend and co-worker Janet) toward Yellowknife and in the almost three-hour return leg there were no creatures to be seen. All in all it was a great day. Below is a photo of my friend Moose and the second was taken at the Wha Ti falls (I can wait to shoot them in summer). Stay tuned to this blog as there are two more post read to go. One from the Fort Smith Highway and a post of images from Vee Lake road. For now thanks for being here and Happy Shooting.

 

Written by leesacrey

March 13, 2011 at 1:01 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent story and great images Lee!

    johnfuji

    March 13, 2011 at 1:28 AM


Leave a Reply

