Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The Lynx

with 2 comments


On my families trip back from High level, Edmonton and Grande Prairie, Alberta, we all sat in the truck watching for critters (at least when the Girls weren’t watching a movie). Like our trip south, just the week before, we didn’t see any Bison (a normal sight when heading south from Yellowknife). Anyone who knows me has heard that there is a list of animals I want to see and I always assume will never be spotted (at least on the Highway). One of those is a Lynx. So, Sunday afternoon presented a rare find for me. About 5 minutes from Chan Lake Park just resting on the side of the road is a Lynx. I passed by at about 110 km/h. Several other vehicles passed by and no one seemed to be interested. I quickly hit the brakes and turned the truck around. I asked Dale to grab my camera and said that the Lynx would probably be running away before we get back the few hundred feet to where he or she was. Boy was I wrong, the Lynx was still in the same place, just sitting on the snow. It didn’t move and didn’t seemed to be bothered by our arrival. I quickly started to snap away (Dale was doing the same only she wouldn’t get out of the truck). It must be injured we thought. It didn’t move, hardly even notice us. After getting a few shots, we started to make noise. Trying to get some reaction but, still nothing (even the truck horn didn’t disturb him/her). After about 15 to 20 minutes the Lynx decided I had enough and calmly got up and slowed walked away. Still seeming not to care about the guy giggling like a school kid only a hundred feet away and didn’t even turning around to say goodbye, the Lynx wander off with out a care in the world.  I, of course, was excited enough for all of us, including the Lynx. The Girls thought I was a little crazy and had a good laugh. It was a good drive home. Now, does anyone know where I can find a wolverine, there appears to be hope for this list of mine after all. Thanks for popping by and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Written by leesacrey

March 29, 2011 at 12:34 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lucky guy! I mean that although we have them, I have never seen that in free nature.

    sartenada

    March 29, 2011 at 2:34 AM

  2. You don’t see that everyday for sure! Nice captures.

    Mike

    April 7, 2011 at 7:24 AM


Leave a Reply

