Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Film, it is back (at least for me).

with 2 comments


Recently, I decided to purchase a film camera. It has been three  or four years since I sold the last of my film equipment and wanted to try shooting with film again. I was and still am thinking that in some way shooting with film will make me a better photographer. My thought was that in order not to spend a small fortune on film and processing, I would have to pay close attention to getting the right shot. No taking twenty shots of a subject and just deleting the unwanted images, with film that will get costly. So, I buy a Minolta Maxxum 7 and three rolls of Fuji Film. It has been fun using what I call “The Old School Cool” film camera. I am not quite done with the third roll of film yet but, I am getting there. What I have learned so far is that finding a good photo lab is very important. Not just a lab but also a place that can make me high res files on a cd. That is becoming much more difficult than I imagined (it may have to do with my demands and a touch of OCD, lol). I have gotten the first two rolls of film developed and I am a little happy with the results. Here are the first two images from the old Maxxum 7. There will certainly be more to come (now that there are 6 fresh rolls waiting to go in the fridge) but, until then I hope you enjoy these. Thanks for being here and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

April 5, 2011 at 7:00 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice Lee. Nature scenes are always good,they make us think how awesome are the things around us,especially when captured with a good photographer. mom.

    loretta Beck

    April 5, 2011 at 7:38 AM

  2. I love shoting film for that reason – it makes me slow down and take the time to consider the shot more. That being said, it rarely seems to work out for me 🙂

    Well done!

    Mike

    April 7, 2011 at 7:25 AM


Leave a Reply

