Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My Visit with The Edge!

with 3 comments


On June 1, 2011, U2 play their 92nd stop on their 360 Tour. The venue was Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, Alberta. The Fray were the opening act and show was set to start at 7:00 pm.

It may have been U2’s 92nd stop on the tour but, it was only my 2nd show. I had also been to the Vancouver, BC show. That show was held in BC Place Stadium on October 28, 2009. 17 months between shows for me.

Kyla traveled with me to the Vancouver show and this time the plan was that Megan would take the trip. The original plan was for Dale and I to both go but, there were scheduling problems. Kyla was out partly because she had just returned from another 2 week trip to Europe (France, Monaco and Italy this time). As it got closer to the concert date we got the schedule for Megan’s dance program and of course it was for the same week that the concert fell on. That eliminated Megan from attending. So with Megan, Kyla and Dale out that left Jenna in our house as the only remaining possibility. Unfortunately Jenna is 9 and it didn’t sound like she would be making the trip.

Six weeks prior to the U2 concert, Daryl Benson had been to Yellowknife to do a two-day workshop and to help with Skills Canada/NWT’s Photography event. Daryl had offered to have me stay at his place while in Edmonton. Due to Daryl’s generosity, I thought it would be only fair I ask him if he would like to attend. He gladly accepted my offer and it was now set. Daryl and I would attend the concert.

At the Vancouver show I was told that if you try to bring in any camera equipment that looks to be at a professional level it would be taken by security. It didn’t sound like a fun experience so, I left my camera gear at the hotel. In Edmonton I would try a little harder. Knowing that more expensive equipment probably wouldn’t get it I brought my second camera body (the less impressive Sony a55). I also thought a reasonable lens would have to do so, I mounted an 18 to 250 mm to the camera and off I went. As Daryl and I approached the gate the announcement about camera equipment was made. “No professional camera equipment would be allowed inside” Daryl and I both chuckled, not because I was getting inside with my camera (it wouldn’t draw any attention) but, because we wanted professional camera equipment to be defined. You see it isn’t the camera that makes better photographs, it is the user of the camera. Any DSLR on the market today in the right hands can take unbelievable images. So, the whole idea of professional camera equipment just didn’t make sense. I know photographers who produce images with high-end point and shoot cameras. I still find it a little funny.

Anyway I am sure when you read the title of this post you didn’t really care for all the chatter I have posted. Here are some images of what I saw through my non-professional camera equipment. It was a good show, not as good as Vancouver’s but, it was U2. How much worse could it be? Enjoy, thanks for being here and as always Happy Shooting and Edge, until next time Godspeed.

 

From row 82 Section C

 

The Spaceship and the crowd

 

Bono on the big screen

 

"The Larry Mullen Band", "Feedback", "The Hype", or "U2", whatever the name it is the boys from Dublin

 

Bono on the 360 stage

 

A genius of the guitar - The Edge with a Rickenbacker

 

Ground Control to Major Tom - prepare for lift off

Written by leesacrey

June 11, 2011 at 10:14 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. once i saw your seat, i could find you in their giga pixel picture. check your email – pretty cool!

    Hughie

    June 12, 2011 at 6:35 AM

  2. Cool pictures!

    loretta Beck

    June 12, 2011 at 10:33 AM

  3. Nice! I saw U2 last year in Toronto. Great show! Some great shots considering the challenging lighting at a concert.

    Mike

    June 24, 2011 at 8:04 AM


Leave a Reply

