Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

I have been away and I am getting ready to travel!

with 2 comments


It has been twenty days since my last Blog post, which is a long time between post for me. You see when a started this little Blog the plan was to post once every week. That worked for a while but, there has been times with daily post, times with posts every 2 to 3 days and now times with days and weeks in between the writings. These past few weeks have been busy, my work office has moved, the girls have gotten out of school and we are preparing for our annual summer vacation. Getting ready to travel is always a time of great thought for me. We travel around with our travel trailer. We try to go somewhere different and see something new each year. We also have to plan for different interests. The girls want beaches and/or swimming pools, Dale wants something quiet and peaceful and I want great photographic locales (internet, air conditioning and TV are usually a must for me, I might be the high maintenance one in this group, lol).

Travel is a great thing. It gives us an escape from the norm. It expands the mind with new sights and sounds. It can provide us with great memories. I love to explore places I have not been. Each year when we travel I often think of home. Not Yellowknife, NWT but Newfoundland. We sight see and tour different areas of Canada and the US, looking at the history and beauty of every place we visit. That always starts me thinking about the beauty and history of my home province. When we are young we always seem to take our surroundings for granted, always wanting to go away for vacation. Now over 20 years after leaving “The Granite Planet”, I am amazed at how little attention I paid to the things my home had to offer. Here I am five days away from our next trip and I find myself thinking of the adventures I could have had in my own backyard. I am sure this new adventure will be a good one, I guess we will see.

So, I guess it is not always the distance of the journey but, more about what you get out of the journey. In preparation for this post I went looking for some interesting quotes about travel. Here are some I liked;

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

“Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” – Miriam Beard

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

So if you are taking a break from whatever you do, please consider that the journey you take doesn’t have to be long, there are things around your door you may have never noticed. Here are some images from our past trips. The first is from a trip to our flower bed in the front yard. The second from a trip in March to the Muttart Conservatory in Edmonton, Alberta and the third is from a trip to Forget Me Not Pond in southwestern Alberta with Darwin Wiggett. Oh and if you travel without your camera, don’t worry the image from the Muttart was taken with my iPhone 4. Enjoy, thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

 

 

Written by leesacrey

July 3, 2011 at 6:38 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice images you have and I love traveling as well. Cheers!

    Alex Khoo

    July 12, 2011 at 8:26 AM

  2. Great detail on the frist one, and the last – what can I say, it’s one of your finest! Enjoy the travelling.

    Mike

    July 12, 2011 at 10:53 AM


Leave a Reply

