Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More Images from the road – our trip continues – Part 13a

with one comment


The 166 km drive to Tofino took almost two and one half hours and I only stopped twice. We headed into Pacific Rim National Park and before we turn north to Tofino, we take a quick trip south to Ucluelet. There we just have a quick look around and stop just long enough for me to start climbing out on the rocks near the lighthouse there. I had my camera backpack on, was carrying my tripod bag on my right shoulder, had my a700 in my right hand and on my left shoulder I had my a55. That would have been fine if I didn’t of trip over something and fall, cameras first, to the rocks. Another foot and it wouldn’t have been pretty (because I am very pretty now I will have you know, lol) as the fall would have been much bigger. I am ok just a little ego damage. It did make me rethink what I do and where I go to capture an image. That said I never did get the image I wanted of the lighthouse. I got some images but, not exactly what I had in mind. After grabbing a couple of Bluejay images, we are back in the truck and off to Tofino. During our drive we take notice of the different places we might stop on the return trip, for the girls, Long Beach is where they want to go. Miles of surf and sand on the Pacific Ocean can’t be a bad place to visit. We stop in Tofino, look around and have lunch before Megan and Jenna bring up Long Beach. We head back the way we came and make our stop at the beach. We spend a couple of hours just hanging out. A note to any of you who may want to go there and grab some photos, if you put your tripod legs at the water’s edge and mount your camera for some nice landscape shots, when the tide comes in it will wash the sand away from the tripods feet and your three-legged friend will slowly find itself getting lower and lower while the legs and legs clamps will fill with wet salt watery sand (even if you have water-resistant twist connections like me). If you change lenses there you will get sand everywhere. Don’t worry however, the next day when you visit a nice rock covered beach with your family, you can bring all you cleaning supplies and spend the entire afternoon cleaning your equipment. Oh and another thing, when you take your tripod apart pay close attention the how it goes back together. If not, it will take you twice as long to get the job done, not that I would know anything about that, lol. It was a great road trip and a great day. Here is a sample of what I saw and tomorrow should you choose to return you will get some notes and pictures from the girls. Thanks for hang around and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

July 27, 2011 at 8:00 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really really wonderful beach! I love the 1,6, and 7 of your photos. Quiet and clean beach I think. You should try to see Karimunjawa and Ujung Genteng beach on my blog, and tell me what you see. Thanks for sharing by the way

    Jairo

    July 27, 2011 at 12:08 PM


Leave a Reply

