Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More Images from the road – our trip continues – Part 19

with one comment


Dale, the girls and I head north from our home base in Qualicum Beach. We haven’t been north on Highway 93A to date and today seems as good a day as any to do so. We only head as far as Courtney. Courtney is bigger then we expected and the girls want to make a quick stop at the mall there. We have a quick look around and soon we are back in the truck heading south. For me nothing I can find will be as good as my find in Yesterday’s Child Antique Store in Qualicum Beach. It was there I found a Minolta 100 mm f2.8 1:1 Marco lens and some accessories for only $ 149.00, awesome! Sorry, back on track. Heading back to Qualicum Beach we head past Fanny Bay (home of the world-famous Fanny Bay Oysters) and Deep Bay. We make quick stops at both. Near a Fanny Bay Oysters facility I spot something on an old drift wood log on the beach, it is two Bald Eagles. One Adult and one young one (which I learned today, thanks Jan). I stop quickly and grab my camera. I walk along the beach trying to get close without the Eagles flying away. The young one leaves as two other adults fly over head. The adult I first saw is still standing on the log watching me get closer and closer. I get to around sixty feet and decide that is close enough. I continue to snap away. It was awesome. Once I feel I have enough images, I get back to the truck and we continue. I want to go to Deep Bay because it offers the best view of Chrome Island and it’s Lighthouse. Deep Bay is beautiful, you can have a place that looks back over the boat dock/marina with snow-covered mountains as a background and from the front you can see the Pacific with Chrome Island, the BC mainland and the mountains there. I ask again “How much is property in the area?” We finally get back to Qualicum Beach another great day. Here is some of what we saw. Enjoy, thanks for hanging out and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

August 3, 2011 at 9:00 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! These photographs are so beautifully clear! And it looks like we (the observer) are staring this bird right in the face… great work!

    Polly Hoyt Nance

    August 3, 2011 at 3:00 PM


Leave a Reply

