Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More images from the road – our trip continues – Part 22

with 3 comments


As discussed yesterday, the girls spend the late afternoon and early evening at the aquatic centre in Revelstoke, I head up the Meadows in the Sky Parkway to the top of Mount Revelstoke. The weather in Revelstoke is overcast with the sun breaking through every so often. It doesn’t look as nice at the mountain tops but, I am about to find out. I check in at the park entrance and pay the day pass rate. The parks employee tells me that about an hour ago there was a black bear sighting and so far today all different types of weather at the peak today. It seemed to change every few minutes I was told. I am off to the summit. I make some quick stops at the lookouts as I go but, decide to wait until my return trip to get images from them. I will learn that would be a mistake. As I near the top I drive through a nice puffy white cloud. The cloud quickly turns to a dark grey mass and rain begins to fall. The traffic heading down uses it’s emergency flashers to allow others to see them and I have my four driving lights on. After a few minutes I reach the first parking lot. I am surprised to find the second one is closed and there are no park employees up here today and no shuttle is running. I guess I hike from here. As I start to get my camera gear ready, it changes from rain to snow (my truck is telling me it is 6 degrees). It snows for just a few seconds and then back to rain. When I say rain, I actually mean it pours and pours, huge rain drops are bouncing off of everything. I wait in the truck and can see some blue sky approaching (at least I hope it is heading this way). I try to plan to be at the top just as the clear sky reaches me. The rain slows and I pull on my Stormtech rain jacket, pull the rain cover over my camera bag, grab my tripod bag and an umbrella and start the hike. About a kilometre in the sky opens up and decides to dump more rain down on me. I continue up the trial. I reach the top and head for the start of the trail to the meadows. It begins to rain harder. I continue on the trail for a few minutes. It rains harder and I watch the clear blue sky I saw earlier past to the north, this is just awesome. I try a capture a few images but, everything is soaking wet. I turn back and decide to head up to the fire watch tower (the highest point in the area). I am hope to find shelter for a couple of minutes but, I am out of luck, it is closed and locked. I hike back down and continue on another trail. In total I spent about two and one half hours on Mount Revelstoke, not the best idea I have had today. I had a blast regardless of the rain and snow. It was great fun despite the fact that everything I am wearing is soaked through (including my rain jacket). I met some other hikers on my way back to the truck and I must have looked like the smartest guy ever. You see, when I met the others I was just coming through some knee-deep snow, wearing my hiking shoes with shorts, a backpack of camera gear, a camera around my neck, a tripod on my shoulder, in an orange rain jacket and carrying a blue flower patterned umbrella to try to keep dry (I am so happy that was the umbrella I grabbed out of the three available to me, lol). I was a great time. Oh and as for the lookouts, while I try to get some images on the trip down but, the rain continued until I was about five minutes from the aquatic centre. Here is a sample of how Mount Revelstoke looked. Thanks for coming by, stay dry and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

August 6, 2011 at 9:00 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stunning photos! This photos speak of nature’s beauty in a way that “no words” can.
    -Linda

    lindayoga

    August 6, 2011 at 11:53 AM

  2. Beautiful sceneries!

    NovriWahyuPerdana

    August 6, 2011 at 1:23 PM

  3. Lee; i love the last picture! Just goes to show there is beauty in the rain.

    loretta Beck

    August 11, 2011 at 1:03 PM


Leave a Reply

