Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The most photographed place on earth and I only get 10 minutes!!!!

with 5 comments


Don’t worry this is still part of our trip, let me add “More images from the road – our trip continues – Part 24”. So, with Pyramid Lake, Patricia Lake and Pyramid Mountain done I turn my talk to planet Earth’s most photographed place. Spirit Island on Maligne Lake is said to be the most photographed place in the world. Boat tours have been done there since 1928. That is two years before Jasper National Park became a National Park which is why they can still provide motorized boat tours on the lake. The tour company there is the only company allowed to have fuel driven watercraft and no individuals are allowed either.  If the Park was formed first then no fuel driven vehicles would be allowed. If you have never been on the tour and want to go, don’t worry they have just renewed their 80 year lease and will be around for a long time. Which is good for me as a canoe trip to Spirit Island would be about 4 hours each way. The problem is if you go on the tour and leave on the same boat as took you to the Island then your guides will give you ten minutes to get off the boat, walk the short trail, photograph and then get back on the boat. No pressure, lol. I knew I wouldn’t have a lot of time. I had a guide-book which gave me a slight advantage during my time in the Canadian Rockies. Darwin Wiggett did a book called “How to photograph the Canadian Rockies” and I would recommend it to everyone who plans on visiting the Rockies. Darwin has made that much easier, you see there is now a website called “How to photograph the Canadian Rockies“. Go there and sign up and get the eBooks, they are the best resource you will find. Not only does it tell you the hot spots to photograph but, it tells you where to stand to get your picture and the time of day that is best for each area. The only way it could get better is if Darwin were to go with you when you travel. Be sure to check out the links. So, I read the part of the book about Maligne Lake and knew my time at Spirit Island would be short. I waited until everyone was off the boat and as they walked up the short trail loop I decided to go around the bottom of the trail, which should get me to what I think is the best location just a minute or so before anyone else. Also, when they finally come down to where I am, I could just move up on the trail to where they were. That plan worked well and although I only had ten minutes I was able to get some good shots. I should also note that Spirit Island wasn’t an Island when I visited. You see the water level changes throughout the year and Spirit Island has only been an Island for eight days so far this year, it was more like Spirit Peninsula when we visit and we were told for a while this year it was just trees sticking out of the lake. The weather had not been that great this year we were told so, I guess I was lucky as when we were there is wasn’t a bad day. So the tour was ninety minutes in total and if you add the hour drive each way from Jasper it is a good way to spend a half a day. If you stop at several different places on route, like we did, it will easily become a full day adventure. Until you travel there on your own, here is how Spirit Island looked from my vantage point. Enjoy thanks for hangin’ and as always Happy Shooting.

I should say that of these different views I like the third one the best. Comment and let me know what you like. Another thing to note is that I had decided to only use my digital camera when I arrived at Spirit Island and just before and during the boat trip I would shoot with my Minolta Maxxum 7 35mm film camera. A future post will have some of my film images. Here is one as a sample. No digital, no filters, just me and the old film camera. I had a blast.

Written by leesacrey

August 8, 2011 at 9:00 AM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stunning pictures

    tinkerbelle86

    August 8, 2011 at 10:17 AM

  2. Sorry everyone, I missed adding the links. I have now corrected that problem. Be sure to check them out.

    leesacrey

    August 8, 2011 at 10:32 AM

  3. Not sure if Spirit Island is the most photographed place on Earth, but it is popular! Great shots for your limited time there, if I didn’t know better, it looks like you had the whole place to yourself. Love the old school film image of the boathouse as well. Thanks for the plug about the eBooks!

    What a great road trip you guys are having

    d

    darwinwiggett

    August 8, 2011 at 12:37 PM

  4. Tough place to photograph in ten minutes during the middle of the day. You have to get lucky with some light. I like the third one best as well.

    It looks like you’re on a nice long road trip with the family! I hope you’re enjoying that.

    The U2 concert was great! Thanks again.

    Daryl Benson

    August 8, 2011 at 8:45 PM

  5. I like the 3rd one best too.

    loretta Beck

    August 11, 2011 at 12:35 PM


Leave a Reply

