Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More images from the road – our trip continues – Part 25

with 3 comments


Don’t worry I didn’t skip a part. The last post was actually part 24 but, if you read the last post you will already know that. So, as I stated earlier the Wabasso Campground is half way between Jasper and Athabasca Falls. Athabasca Falls is also the location of the start of Dale, Megan and Jenna’s white water rafting trip. We decided to go the falls but  wait until after 7:00 pm hoping the crowds from the rafting trips and the daily tourist visits will have slowed. We take the 10 minute drive to the falls and we aren’t as lucky as I had hoped as there were still a large number of visitors. The other problem I saw was the sun has gone down enough to created a dark shadow over the falls. It actually wouldn’t be to bad but, Earth’s yellow sun is shining brightly on Mt. Kerkeslin and is making for a very uneven exposure over the scene I want to capture. I start by finding a location I like. When I do the visitors there make it easy for me to get set-up and give me all the room I need. Then I get the filters I want, first my circular polarizer, then a 3 stop solid nd and finally a 3 stop nd grad filter. I probably could have used a second 3 stop nd grad but, I didn’t have my coupler to add a second filter holder and the one I was using was full with 3 filters. I take a few shots and get as close as I can to what I wanted to capture. From there Jenna wants to take me down to where the rafting trip started. We head down to the Athabasca River, past the small canyon created by the river. On the bank of the river, where the rafts are launched, there are dozens of Inukshuks. Jenna seems to have one in mind and wants me to walk around to the far side of the river’s edge. It is a great location, sitting on a rock at the river’s edge is a small Inukshuk and straight across from it is the canyon we walked past to get there. We set-up using the same filters as before, the difference now is that we don’t have such a harsh difference in light and the 3 stop nd grad should work like magic. I take a few shots there and get Jenna’s approval on my cameras lcd. It was a great visit but, I know that I will have to come back some day to get the light I really want. Here is a sample of what we saw on our visit. Thanks for checking in and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

August 9, 2011 at 9:00 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stunning photographs Lee

    Charmaine Tarrant

    August 9, 2011 at 9:08 AM

  2. these are great looks like you are having a wonderful time
    http://www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com

    laurahartson

    August 9, 2011 at 9:29 AM

  3. Lee those are awesome.!!

    loretta Beck

    August 11, 2011 at 12:41 PM


Leave a Reply

