Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More images from the road – our trip continues – Part 26

with 2 comments


So far Jasper has offered up, the Athabasca River, Athabasca Falls, Pyramid Lake, Patricia Lake, Pyramid Mountain, Mt. Kerkeslin, Maligne Lake and Spirit Island. We all did the Maligne Lake Boat Tour together. Dale, Megan and Jenna went rafting while Kyla and I visited Patricia Lake, Pyramid Lake and Pyramid Mountain. We all visited Athabasca Falls and now we will all visit the Jasper Tramway. The girls are pretty tired and it doesn’t look like a family hike to the summit is going to happen (we are visiting here on the same day as the rafting trip, paddle or die Jenna, lol). It is chilly at the top of the Tramway and the girls want to get a quick snack and easily convinced Dale that sitting comfortably inside is a great plan. So, they have quick look around and then head inside for a quick bite and a beverage. I don’t really want to make them wait the hour or so that the hike will take and the additional 200 metre height change and the 2 degree drop in temperature makes me stay close to the restaurant and gift shop as well. I decide that I will try the sweep panoramic feature on my Sony a55. What I want to capture is the Victorian Cross Range. I want to get a shot that has the Rockies which form the BC/Alberta border and continue past Mount Robson and follow all the way to Pyramid Mountain. That would give me about 90 to 100 km of the Canadian Rockies in one image. If I get it (and I did), all I will need to do is be able to remember the names of all the peaks in the image (I can’t, lol). I had a great time and the experience became more fun as other photographers watched as all I needed to do was to turn the A55 (while holding the shutter button) on the panoramic ball head mounted to my tripod. Some of them were amazed I could capture these images without having to stitch them together with computer software. Those poor Canon and Nikon users, lol. Here is what I was able to capture while at the top of the Jasper Tramway. Enjoy, thanks for following us on our journey and as always Happy Shooting (even if your camera can’t shoot its own panoramas).

I thought I would throw in this one of the Jasper town site with the Mountains behind.

Written by leesacrey

August 10, 2011 at 9:00 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. these are so pretty, i want a trip now!

    tinkerbelle86

    August 10, 2011 at 9:44 AM

  2. Really nice. Makes me remember when Linda and Michael took me there. The hills are so pretty.

    loretta Beck

    August 11, 2011 at 12:46 PM


Leave a Reply

