Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

More images from the road – our trip continues – Part 28 (the film part)

leave a comment »


I spoke earlier in this series about the fact that while on the boat to Spirit Island, I would only shoot with my Minolta Maxxum 7 film camera. So, I am in the moving boat, shooting through the open window, no tripod, no image stabilization, the camera is in manual mode, auto focus is turned off and I have no filters mounted, not even a polarizer. I find that I pay a little closer attention to my settings when shooting with this camera. If I shoot with digital, I can take an image, look at it on the LCD (using the histogram of course) and if everything is not as I like I can do it again. While on the water in a moving boat, I will get only one shot and I can’t see how the images look before the film is developed. So, I try to be sure I have everything just right. I think this is like a test, a challenge to see if I can actually take a half decent picture. Really there is no difference in the settings I use, just no instant gratification of seeing the image. I will say, I was happy with the outcome and if I had access to all my filters and a tripod in would have been just that much better. Here is a sample of the 24 images on that roll of film. Enjoy thanks to visiting my little blog (only one post left and you will have followed us home) and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

August 12, 2011 at 9:00 AM

Leave a Reply

