Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Aurora – A Space Oddity

with 2 comments


Ok, before I start, everyone needs to be playing David Bowie’s “Space Oddity”. It is a favorite of mine while I edit Aurora shots. If for some reason you are not a fan then my second choice would be Elton John’s “Rocket Man”. Either of these tunes should work for the natural phenomenon, the Aurora.

Last night a group of local photographers and a couple from out-of-town, got together to go Aurora chasing. Leaving at around 10:20 pm we chased the Northern Lights around the area. We spent quite a while driving the Ingraham Trail in search of Earth’s most amazing light display. I didn’t arrive back home until about 2:45 am. It was a great night and maybe tonight will be another night of chasing.

We worked on catching the reflections of the Aurora in nearby bodies of water. There was some light painting done. One thing we noticed was the fact that not only were we getting the Aurora reflection but also the cloud reflection as well. I for one liked the way the image looked.

While going through my images today I noticed something else that I found quite interesting.  Other images appearing in the photo –  One of the Aurora shots appear to have a wolf’s profile in the Aurora pattern. Another appeared to have an eerie green skull looking down on the scene below (maybe I watch too much Harry Porter with the girls) and if I turn some images on their ends the Aurora and the reflection would form two halves of a person. It was fun to look at each image to see what I could find. It reminded me of looking for shapes in the clouds (I know you all did that at least once as a kid).

It was a fun, photography filled night. Here are some sample images, see if you can see what I see in some of them. Enjoy, thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

September 3, 2011 at 3:50 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh…so amazing I have always wanted to see this 😀

    Badpanda22

    September 3, 2011 at 4:19 PM

  2. Lee the photos are amazing I love how the last image looks like a man standing with a skull/ghost face on each shoulder…..

    Val

    September 3, 2011 at 5:46 PM


Leave a Reply

