Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

And now for your viewing pleasure – more Aurora Borealis

with 6 comments


For a second night in a row a small group of us went Aurora hunting. It was another great night and this time there were 9 of us. Starting at 10 pm and staying until 3 am, we braved the elements (it wasn’t that hard) and the dark to catch the lights of the north’s night sky. We visit three different locations, Giant Mine boat launch, Pontoon Lake and the Yellowknife River. All three offered up some great views. Here’s a sample of what I saw on my second night of Aurora hunting. Enjoy, thanks for hanging around and as always Happy Shooting.


6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great photo

    thebigbookofdating

    September 4, 2011 at 2:17 PM

  2. Stunning photos Lee……..beautiful

    val pond

    September 4, 2011 at 3:50 PM

  3. that last picture is interesting! fog coming through?

    Hughie

    September 4, 2011 at 4:26 PM

    • Hughie, while we were out last night some of us found our lenses and cameras starting to fog up (I believe due to the amount of humidity in the air). I think what happened on the last image was that the outer part of the front lens glass was starting to fog over. I liked the effect whatever the cause.

      leesacrey

      September 4, 2011 at 8:29 PM

  4. Hi Lee – I saw your Aurora article in Photography BB – nice job. I came back from two weeks shooting Aurora around Yellowknife Sept 1-15 and got some beautiful shots – the Aurora was amazing this year. I use A priority mode however. I set my Camera to F1.4, 24 mm Canon – focus on infinity using the live Mode and zoom in on a bright star, this gives me the sharpest stars as the Canon lenses focus past infinity. I usually set my camrea to ISO 800 and my exposures are between 2-6 seconds using a Canon 5D. Later in the evening I often get condensation on the lens which I need to wipe off, but I think I will bring a battery powered hair dryer next year.

    I met lots of other Aurora photographers at Prelude and Pontoon Lake, including many from Japan – I will need to brush up on my japanese.
    .
    Anyone interested in seeing my Aurora photos can view them at my web site:
    http://www.canadiannaturephotographer.com

    I met with Nigel Fearon, and we usually also meet with James Pugsley of Astronomy north – both from Yellowknife. I don’t think you mentioned astronomy north web site, but it is one of the best tools I have found for Aurora forecasts in the Yellowknife area: http://astronomynorth.com – it provides updates on sky conditions and Aurora activity.

    I live in Calgary so its a day and half drive to Yellowknife but hope to be back again next September, maybe I will meet you out on the Ingraham trail. If you think my web site might be of interest to your readers would also appreciate if consider linking to it. I am also always looking to feature other photographers works on the site as well if you or other photographers might be interested.

    I am curious to see if the Aurora continues to get better as we approach 24 solar max cycle in 2012 and 2013 – I can’t imagine better than what I saw and photographed this Fall.

    Cheers
    Rob Berdan

    Robert Berdan

    October 3, 2011 at 2:26 PM

    • Thanks Rob for the comment. It is always nice to share information on how we all shoot the same or different subjects, more knowledge never hurts. Great website with great images, I look forward to continued visit from here on. Feel free to look me up when you are around the area.

      leesacrey

      October 7, 2011 at 12:19 PM


Leave a Reply

