Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Old Friends – New Photographers – Places I’ve not visited – meet Melissa Mills

with 2 comments


A few years ago my family and I headed home for our summer vacation. Home of course is Newfoundland. It was a great trip and if you have followed my blog you may have read all about the trip. While there I attended a high school reunion (24 years) and got to reconnect with some old friends. One of those friends was Cindy Thomas. Cindy is a Partner with Legrow’s Travel in Grand Falls/Windsor. At one event Cindy brought a very important person, her daughter Melissa Mills. Melissa is the young lady I wrote about for beating us at a family bowling event. There is something else about Melissa that I never mentioned at the time. Melissa is interested in photography and has followed my blog from time to time. Recently I have been talking with Cindy and was told that Melissa had a trip planned. A trip to a place in Newfoundland that I have never been to, a place that I have wanted to visit for quite some time. That place is Rose Blanche (this link is what Wikipedia has to say about Rose Blanche). I have always want to photograph the famous lighthouse in Rose Blanche. Originally built in the late 1800’s and restored in 1999, the lighthouse is on my bucket list of places to photograph and on my next trip to Newfoundland I will be sure to go capture it. In the mean time Melissa had decided to go to Rose Blanche with her mom. I got a phone call from Cindy telling me about their plans. Cindy assured me that Melissa would get me some images of the lighthouse, rain or shine. Well just over a week or so ago I get an e-mail from Cindy with some photos attached. I quickly called her and we talked about the visit and during that same call I ask for permission to do a little photo editing and use some of the images on my blog. The soon to be famous Melissa Mills grants me that request. So, I first do a little editing and send the edited images back to Melissa for her to see, I call Cindy to make sure they were received and to find out if Melissa could see the changes are to see if she is ok with the changes I made. Once everything is ok I mention to Cindy to watch for this blog post.

What more can I say? Well I can tell all those who are reading this that I am honored to be able to show Melissa’s work here. I am also honored that her and her Mom, Cindy, would think of me when planning the trip. Knowing I want to photograph there and knowing I haven’t been but also for knowingly letting me be a part of the trip by sharing the images with me. Now the problem is that I want to go to Rose Blanche just that much more. So here is a sample of what Melissa saw. I hope you enjoy them as much as I have. As for Melissa and Cindy, well, you’d think that a travel agent could get herself and her daughter to Yellowknife for a visit. I will be waiting at the airport with camera in hand. Thanks again Melissa and Cindy and thanks to everyone following along. As always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

September 8, 2011 at 10:30 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am a very proud mother today to see my daughter Melissa’s photos on this blog. She really enjoys taking pictures and it seems to come naturally to her. I am so glad that Lee has given her this opportunity to share these pictures so that everyone can also enjoy the beautiful scenery that we have on this beauiful island of Newfoundland. I hope that everyone enjoys and also please take a few moments to enjoy the wonderful work that Lee has done. Thanks, Cindy

    Cindy Thomas

    September 10, 2011 at 9:29 AM

  2. Melissa never ceases to amaze me with her talent! In addition to being a very bright young woman and a wonderful painter, she also has a natural talent for photography too. I particularly like the first image of the lighthouse … somehow it has a haunting quality which captures the fiercely independent spirit of outport Newfoundland. Bravo Melissa! And thanks Lee. It’s so very important to give young people this kind of exposure.

    Gwen Tremblett

    September 12, 2011 at 6:49 AM


Leave a Reply

