Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Old is New again!

with one comment


Those of you who know me shouldn’t be surprised that I recently (within the last year) purchased a 35 mm film camera body. A few of you have even asked why I would take such a step backwards in the world of photography. I am not sure it is a step back. Sure the technology is older but, I believe the lack of instant feedback requires me to pay more attention to my camera set-up. With digital if one of the controls is off just a little I can see it on the digital image (on the rear LCD) and quickly adjust than take the picture again until it is right (or the way I wanted it to be). With my film camera I need to be more accurate with the settings. Besides, 35 mm film cameras are way cooler than these digital image capturing devices (Digital SLRs). I thick that some of the camera manufactures agree that the old look is cool. After all just look at the new Fuji X100 or the Olympus Pen, they look like the cameras our fathers may have used. I believe this so much that I am currently trying to buy a 1963 Minolta SR-1 with the attached meter. It is awesome and it is the second SLR that Minolta built (the first being the SR-2 – come on who numbers these things, lol). So, to show that these film cameras can still produce cool images here are some images I have shot with my Minolta Maxxum 7 (with some help from Fuji Superia 400). Some of these you may have seen before but, some are new. Enjoy, thanks for being here and as always Happy Shooting.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i hate to say it, there is just something about film

    mrhooie

    September 28, 2011 at 11:12 PM


Leave a Reply

