Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Another early Saturday morning – Fort Smith, NWT.

with one comment


Like the past few weekends this latest one was similar, with one exception. This past Saturday’s trip was just a little longer than most. My friend Garry was going to visit Fort Smith. His daughter is moving there and the trip was to bring her down to visit her new employer and to get a feel for the community. I was invited to tag along and jumped at the chance. We left at around 7:00 am. I was riding shotgun with two cameras at my feet. One with my 120 – 400 mm lens and the other with my 70 – 200 mm f2.8. I usually have these ready to capture any wildlife I might come across while driving. The plan was to get down to Fort Smith by early afternoon to give everyone time to have their meetings and get to visit the places they needed. That meant we wouldn’t spend a lot of time stopping to take pictures on the trip south. We did make one or two quick stops and noted some things to see on our return trip. We arrived in Fort Smith around 2:25 pm. We checked into the Pelican Rapids Inn and then started around town. I got dropped off at The Rapids of the Drowned and quickly hiked down to The Rocks to get some images. If you don’t know much about Fort Smith or you have never visited there I would suggest you check it out. Fort Smith maybe one of my favorite places to visit in the NWT. Here are some links to help you start exploring; Fort Smith Website and Fort Smith on Wikipedia. After my quick visit it was back to exploring the town and learn as much as is possible in one afternoon. This exploring made me like Fort Smith even more. Once the exploring was done we went out for dinner and a quick trip toward Fort Fitzgerald (none of us had ever entered Alberta in that direction before). We grabbed some things for the road trip home and then went to our room to rest for the night. At 7:00 am the next morning we were on the road again. With a little more time we made a few stops on our return trip. We even had time to stop for a quick speeding ticket, lol. The RCMP told us that a few kilometres ahead was a Wolf feeding on a Bison carcass. I was pretty excited but, when we arrived there was no Wolf. I spent some time walking around the area but I didn’t see anything. We were back on the road and arrived back in Yellowknife around 4:30 pm. I was a great road trip, now I just want to head back toward the Fort Smith area. Hey, who is up for a road trip this weekend? Here is a sample of what we saw on our trip. Thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

Ruffed Grouse near a fire watch tower Highway 5, NWT

The valley near McNally Creek, NWT

Pelicans and fall colours near Rapids of the Drowned, Fort Smith, NWT

Frost covered Bison in Wood Buffalo National Park near Fort Smith, NWT.

My views of The Rapids of the Drowned.

Rapids of the Drowned - 1

Rapids of the Drowned - 2

Rapids of the Drowned - 3

Written by leesacrey

October 11, 2011 at 8:00 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great photos Lee

    val

    October 11, 2011 at 6:39 PM


Leave a Reply

