Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

A Sony a77, an iPhone 4, A flashlight app, friends and the Aurora, make for a fun evening!

with 2 comments


Last night I was watching the Aurora Forecast on Astronomy North website and at the same time watching the weather hoping the night sky would clear. At around 10:30 pm it was nice and clear and there were some bands of Aurora visible from my back deck. It wasn’t a big spectacular light show but there was reason to go and catch a few images. Earlier in the day I had a lunch meeting with Mel Kennah, Jessica Schmidt and Jan Fullerton. Mel is here on business and is from New Brunswick, he had only seen the Aurora once before. I wanted to make sure that Mel got a least a little bit of a show. So, once I seen the Northern Lights were out I quickly sent a text to Jessica. We made arrangements to meet and go out for an Aurora viewing. I picked Mel and Jessica up around 11:10 pm and we were off to Vee Lake. On the way I was talking about light painting and explained that I could get a picture of Mel and Jessica under the lights if I use a light source to shine on them. Well, I didn’t bring a flashlight but, I did have a few flashlight apps on my iPhone 4. We thought we would give it a try. I set my ISO to 1600, my aperture to f4.5 (the biggest aperture available on my 11 – 18 mm lens) and my shutter speed to twenty seconds. I took a few images and it was working well. Then the light painting started. I explained to Mel and Jessica that I would start taking an image and they could walk into the image and find a place to stand. I would then turn on my iPhone flashlight app and shine the light on them. Once I turn the light off they could walk out of the scene and we let the camera finish. I only had the light on them for maybe three or four seconds but, the effect worked. Mel and Jessica seem to be quite happy with what we were trying to capture. Within minutes of getting a few images, clouds rolled in the our light show was over. I know I was quite happy with how my Sony a77 performed (it was the first images I had taken with it). It was a fun night, thanks Mel and Jessica for going out. Here is a sample of what we saw and did. Thanks for following along and as always Happy Shooting.

 

 

 

Mel under the Aurora!

 

Jessica under the Aurora!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Auroras are one of the top things I’d like to see. It competes with staying warm, however. Thus far they’ve fought each other to a draw. I’ve read about igloos you can rent with glass ceilings so you can lay down and watch them from inside, which sounds like what I’ll probably do.

    Great pics, BTW. Thanks for sharing.

    Brian

    November 2, 2011 at 3:30 PM

  2. WOW muchly jealous here would love to see these …sadly where I am only ornade street lights glowing … those are some stunning shots love the landscape ones

    Mark

    November 18, 2011 at 10:59 AM


Leave a Reply

