Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

My little Photography blog – if I build it will they come?

with one comment


Hello World, today I am here to blog about my blogging. Back in the summer of 2009 I had a piece I had written about the importance of photography workshops to amateur photographers. At that time I had started to organize some workshops here in Yellowknife. I wanted an avenue of improving my skills and to also share knowledge between a group with similar interests. I had hoped to present the piece to Outdoor Photography Canada to see if they would use it. Unfortunately, they informed me that they had recently done something similar and it would be to soon to do a related piece (maybe that was easier than saying my piece stunk, lol). It was after that rejection when Darwin Wiggett offered to put the piece on his blog. Looking back, I am surprised I didn’t take Darwin up on his offer. Darwin Wiggett is like the god of landscape photography to me so, being featured on his blog would have been mind-blowing. What I decided instead was to start my own blog to share what I had to say and to share some images. My first blog post was posted on August 23, 2009. My blog at that time was done on Apple’s iWeb software (which is what I use for my website). The plan was to post every week from that point on. As some of you may be aware, my day job is to manage and crunch numbers so stats started to become important to me. My blog information was giving me what I wanted. So, on December 2, 2009 I moved my blog to WordPress. I actually moved each blog individually until I reached my blog of December 9. From that point on I could use WordPress’ site stats and summary tables to keep me informed.

So, how is my little blog doing? Well, let me share what I look at. First, I have not kept up with one post a week. There has been periods with daily post and there have been times as long as five weeks between posts (working full-time and having a family while trying to do photography part-time and share with the world is more work then I thought). What do the numbers tell me? Again, I have no numbers for the first few months. The numbers started on December 2, 2009 at 1:32 pm and by the end of January 7, 2012 (almost 26 months) here is what I see. During that time my little blog has had 226 post, 765 days, 18,346.5 hours with postings and 14,484 views/visits. That tells me I average 19 viewers a day and 1 viewer ever hour and sixteen minutes. I realize those aren’t huge numbers and that is fine, for me I am happy with that. The fact that some people actually read my stuff and browse the posted photos is worth it. I even joked with someone once that my mom can only read this stuff so much (joking that she is my only viewer) but, WordPress provides some info to let me know it is not just mom, lol. So based on the likes and subscriptions I have received, here are where some of my viewers are from (this is the stuff I find interesting). In no order at all;

  • Victoria, BC, Canada
  • Yellowknife, NWT, Canada
  • Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Aalst, Oost-vlaanderen, Belgium
  • Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
  • Aachen, Nordrhein-westfalen, Germany
  • Ronney, Blekinge Lan, Sweden
  • London, England, UK
  • South Bend, Indiana, USA
  • Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Ch, Geneva, Switzerland
  • UP Manilla, Philippines
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Coimbra, Portugal
  • Grand Falls-Windsor, NL, Canada
  • Bandung, Indonesia
  • Newark, Ohio, USA
  • Chengdu, China
  • Brussels, Brussels Hoofdtedelijk Gewest, Belgium
  • Bishop’s Falls, NL, Canada
  • Morinville, Alberta, Canada
  • Billings, Montana, USA
  • Galway, Ireland
  • Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Denver, Colorado, USA
  • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Argentina, South America
  • India
  • Fort Smith, NWT, Canada
  • Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
  • Stettler, Alberta, Canada
  • Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
  • Miami, Florida, USA
  • Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
  • St. John’s, NL, Canada
  • Ellenburg, Washington, USA
  • Brampton, Ontario, Canada
  • Oakland, California, USA
  • Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Canmore, Alberta, Canada
  • Paradise, NL, Canada
  • Bloomington, Illinois, USA
  • Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Finland
  • Toogood Arm, NL, Canada
  • Millwoods, Alberta, Canada
  • Western Michigan, USA
  • Paterson, New Jersey, USA
  • Birchy Bay, NL, Canada
  • Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Omaha, Nebraska, USA
  • Torbay, NL, Canada
  • Western Montana, USA
  • Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
  • South Coast, Massachusetts, USA
  • New York, New York, USA

As a show of thanks to all of you who seem to follow me on the adventure here are five images from the past. Again thanks for be here and as always Happy Shooting.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice pics from up north.

    Graphic Jedi

    January 12, 2012 at 9:16 AM


Leave a Reply

