Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The sun is rising so I must be still above ground!

leave a comment »


Lately I have been carrying my camera to and from the office. Not just to work in the morning and home in the evening (that would be bad because it is still dark at both those time here in Yellowknife) but, everywhere. Meetings, to the bank, company errands, and wherever I go. The plan is to try to get any amount of photography time in that I can. This time of year my office gets busier and busier so anytime time for creating images is a bonus. Yesterday started out as one of those days where you just don’t feel like doing anything. I dropped Jenna and Megan at school, picked up one of Kyla’s classmates and start off to their school. On the drive, I noticed the beautiful sunrise. I pulled up to the school and let the girls out. Then I decided to take a different route to the office. On the way I pulled over and grabbed my camera. I quickly snapped a few images. The first thing I noticed was I usually have my tripod and filters for these types of shots but, not today. Just a camera and one lens. It was still relatively dark and shooting at f11 required me to bump my ISO to 3200. Not the ideal ISO for my landscape work but, without 3200 I would never be able to handhold a sunrise shot. Anyway, if I wanted the shot I had to do whatever it took. Quite often when asked how I am doing I answer with “Well this is one more day above ground” I am joking of course but the sunrise and the fact I could capture it with my camera made me think that not all is lost and that there are surely great days ahead. Imagine, just being able to see and capture a nature show can make me feel just a little better, this photography things has its benefits. Once home I loaded the images on my computer and did some work with Aperture 3 and Neat Image and the result of that work is below. Hopefully, I get a few seconds to shoot again today. Watch tomorrow to see what happens. Remember, there is always something to capture no matter how much gear or how little gear you’re carrying. Stay tuned, thanks for following and as always, Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 12, 2012 at 8:00 AM

Leave a Reply

