Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Please let the sun go down on me!

leave a comment »


Sorry Elton John, I had to do it, lol. I guess most people up here in Canada’s real great white north are wishing for longer days. I guess I am one of those as well but, recently the sunsets here have been fantastic. Before I get to any sunset images I should explain why we wish for longer days more than the rest of Canada (at least the parts south of us). You see here in Yellowknife on December 21, 2011 we had a total of 4 hours 56 minutes and 12 seconds of daylight (December 22, 2012 added only an extra second). The sun did not rise until 10:04 am and it had set again by 3:03 pm, you go to work in the dark and you come home in the dark. Today January 25, 2012, the total amount of day light has changed to 6 hours 49 minutes and 40 seconds. The sun will rise at 9:26 am and should set by 4:15 pm. So, you should be able to tell that if you were a photographer, that worked a regular full-time job, your shooting time here is limited. You need to take advantage of every minute of shooting time you get. I suggest you take your camera everywhere you go or build a studio all your own (nature and landscapes will be difficult in a studio, lol). Of course, if you shoot the northern lights you just need a clear sky, day light is not required. So, with the limited shooting time, here is what I was able to capture this week. Well, based on the title I guess you would say sunset. That would be right but, I got a few other images as well. Here is a sample of what I saw. Thanks for coming by and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

January 25, 2012 at 8:00 AM

Leave a Reply

