Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Shooting at night.

with 6 comments


On January 26, 2012 a group of Yellowknife photographers were out to capture the northern lights. We decided to meet at Vee Lake and see how the lights would be there. It was a little cloudy when I arrived and it didn’t look that promising. There were already people from our group there when I arrive and there was some video being shoot there as well as still photos. The video shooters had things they could shoot while we all waited for the light show to start. I decide to take advantage of the light being produced by the videographers. I shot same night scenes that would use the brightly lit foreground to create some cool effects. I captured this image with the shadow of us still photographers being created by the lighting being used for the video. I thought it was a cool shot.

I like night Landscape images. There always seems to be a light source that will allow for cool images to be produced. From Vee Lake you can usually see the glow of Giant Mine or Yellowknife in the distance. It will shine through the tress and glow just above them. I decided to try and capture that as well.

When I looked at a preview of the image on my LCD screen, I noticed a hint of Aurora in the cloudy night sky (hopefully you can notice it above). That gave me hope that there would be some aurora to shoot later. I continued to capture a few night images and with some aurora peaking through it was not a bad night . After being on Vee Lake for a while we decide to head over to the Giant Mine dock and see what we could capture there. When we arrived the aurora got a little bright for a period of time and seemed to fade back to its early state. I decided to call it a night. I was happy with my night of shooting even without some great aurora shots. When I got to the house I notice the aurora seemed to be much brighter above me. Convinced it wouldn’t be a great aurora night, I headed inside. When I got home I started to process the images I had taken. As usual my luck wasn’t the greatest, while processing images I see a message on Facebook. The message said that I had left too early and by around 1:30 am the aurora were dancing in the sky and not just nice green bands of aurora, but magenta and purple as well. I guess I need to stay out later, despite it being 1:00 am and -30 degrees. Here are some other images showing what I saw during my time outside. Hopefully I learn from my early departure in the up coming nights. Thanks for following along and as always, Happy Shooting.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome images! Just goes to show we can’t hurry nature 🙂

    PC PHOTO

    January 28, 2012 at 2:45 PM

  2. Beautiful photos – the colors are absolutely amazing. Thanks for sharing!

    Dounia

    January 28, 2012 at 5:00 PM

  3. What an amazing turquoise colour. It’s almost got an eerie feel to it – what’s it like when you to take the photos? Does it feel ‘supernatural’?

    Christina

    January 28, 2012 at 8:50 PM

    • Hey Christina,

      When I am out shooting the Aurora and start thinking about what I am seeing it sometimes gives me a feeling of just unbelievable amazement. It almost becomes a spiritual experience. We see the Aurora so often here that at times it just a normal photo shoot however, when we get the big active night skies you just can help being in awe!!

      leesacrey

      January 28, 2012 at 10:21 PM

  4. Very neat shots. I always try different things when the Aurora doesn’t come out.

    KyleWith

    January 28, 2012 at 10:06 PM

    • Hey Kyle,

      I is good to have you back in Yellowknife. We will have to get together for a shoot soon.

      leesacrey

      January 28, 2012 at 10:22 PM


Leave a Reply

