Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The Rise and Fall of Our Closest Star!

with one comment


On February 3, 2012 I was carrying two cameras with me. I started out at 8:10 am, getting the girls to school and then going to the office. Kyla is usually last to get dropped off. Her school day starts later than Megan and Jenna’s and her school is close to my office. After dropping Kyla, I took five minutes to drive down to the Dettah Ice Road. I was going there to capture the sunrise. It wasn’t as great as the day before (when I wasn’t carrying my cameras) but, it was still a beautiful morning. I took a few pics with no filters or tripod, just hand holding my camera. When I arrived at the office, I put my cameras on top of one of my filing cabinets. I didn’t move them the rest of the day (my work days are pretty busy right now). I had some errands to run and some phone calls to make late in my work day and when I was leaving for those I grabbed my cameras and off I went. I made my calls and ran my errands and my work day was finally done. Before heading home I decided to make a quick stop at a local video store. Friday is normally family movie night and I thought I would stop and pick up a couple of flicks to watch. On the way to the house, I noticed the sunset. The low-lying clouds were glowing a bright magenta colour. I drove past the house and turned onto the ball park just four doors away. I grabbed my cameras, which were still sitting on the passenger’s seat, and captured a couple of images of the early evening show. Once I was happy that I got what I wanted, I headed to the house. It was still only around 6:15 pm and we didn’t start the first movie until 9:00 pm. The family movie I rent was called “The Big Year”, it starred Steve Martin, Owen Wilson and Jack Black. With those three I was sure it would be a funny show, it wasn’t as funny as I was expecting but, it was not a bad movie. Considering what I photographed on saturday (see Going Grey is not that bad) “The Big Year” now seemed more appropriate than I had first thought. If you’re into avian photography or are a bird watcher it might be a must see movie. It was another good day in my world. Here is the rise and fall of the closest star to earth. Thanks for stopping by and as always, Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

February 6, 2012 at 12:00 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

