Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Slave River Aurora

with 3 comments


So, I am in Fort Smith, NT for a Skills Canada/NWT event. I am the Technical Chair of their Photography Skills Competition and the regional event was today. I was a great day and the high school students who were in my competition were great. I am sure I will have lots of images to show here a in few days. For now I am going to post a few of last nights Aurora images. It was an amazing show last night and a few of us went down to the edge of the Slave River to watch. I had my camera and captured these images. I hope you enjoy them. Stay tuned for more photos from the Fort Smith area, thanks for checking in and as always Happy Shooting.

 

 

 

Written by leesacrey

February 15, 2012 at 8:27 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Verry cool! It looks like the snows reflecting the green light, did it look like that with the naked eye or just show up in the photo like that?

    makenzieking

    February 15, 2012 at 8:40 PM

    • Good question! What I generally see with the naked eye is even more reflective. The snow and even the Aurora sometimes will appear more green. That was the case with these images. I was working with RAW files so, I adjusted the white balance trying to make the snow whiter then it appear in the original unedited file. In making the adjustment the Aurora actually was less colourful then in the original. I actually like this better so I left the white balance adjustment in.

      leesacrey

      February 15, 2012 at 11:41 PM

  2. Beautiful photos! I would LOVE to see the northern lights.

    'liya

    February 15, 2012 at 9:05 PM


Leave a Reply

