Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

What to do with my old camera gear – Kyla’s Images!

with one comment


Anyone who knows me, will tell you that I am a gear head. No matter what I am into, I have to collect unusual amounts of gear. Photography is no different. Currently I have 5 cameras (4 digital and 1 film), 3 tripods, 8 lenses, 2 flashes, 4 camera bags and an unknown number of accessories. So, each time I buy something new there is a debate at my house; “Did I really need the new item and what am I going to do with the older stuff?”. Most of the time I want to keep everything but, I have sold 2 camera bodies, a vertical grip, 4 lenses and in addition to those I have broken 1 camera and 1 lens that could not be repaired. Don’t worry, I didn’t cry for very long, lol. I have several friends that shoot the same brand of camera as I do and one of those may do it just to get my hand me downs. Now there is a new option that is looking more promising than an option I had before when it comes to my older gear. Kyla, my oldest daughter, has recently claimed 1 camera body, 1 lens and a small camera bag. Of course, she also has access to all my gear and is using the studio lights much more than I am. So, it appears that my left over gear my be difficult for others to get their hands on. It may never leave the house (we will see how the discussion goes when Kyla leaves for university, lol). Kyla, seems to be a bit of a gear head herself. There 3 guitars, 2 guitar amps, a keyboard, guitar pedals, a mixer, several pieces if stereo equipment (which also seems to have come from my collection of stuff) including a turntable and quite a bit of old vinyl, computers, iPods and an iPad lying around in her room (she thinks I should get a drum kit next, lol). With school, work and a fairly busy social life I am always surprised she has time to use any of this stuff. This week she had “her” camera and lens out and went on a bit of a photo shoot. She has great vision for creating images and at 17 fear of shooting something new just doesn’t exist. There were a couple of her images I really liked and I thought I would share them here on my little blog. Here is a sample of what Kyla did with the help of Bella the dog, a tulip, the piano and the snow-covered back deck. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do and if you are look for a deal on some used gear, well good luck with that, lol. Thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

March 11, 2012 at 12:15 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really good job Kyla! Seems like you’re going to be the real pro at this. GREAT!

    loretta Beck

    April 8, 2012 at 9:32 PM


Leave a Reply

