Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Aurora Ukrainian Dancers

with 3 comments


A couple on months ago I was asked if I would be interested in shooting the Aurora Ukrainian Dancers event at NACC (The North Arts and Cultural Centre). Without really thinking too much, I said yes. As the event got closer and closer I started to think about what I would need to do. This may be a problem, this puts me way outside my comfort zone, I shoot landscapes and I can do that when even the lighting is the way I want. No need to worry too much about the light source I need as our closest star provides all the light I usually need. This event was going to be a challenge! I would be shooting an event where the main lights were turned off and the subjects would be lit by bright spot lights. In addition to that the subjects would be moving and I would need a fast enough shutter speed to capture them clearly. I started to think this was going to really bad for the Aurora Ukrainian Dancers. I guess not getting paid for this might mean that the client would get exactly what they were paying for, lol. About a week before the final dress rehearsal a photographer friend of mine, Dave Brosha, posted something that really helped. Dave had posted a comment to photographers saying not to be scared of doing photography for free. Basically saying that a shoot will provide experience and a chance to improve your skills. I should say that I really wasn’t that concerned about the shoot but, I did feel it would be a big challenge to get some good usable images. The day finally arrived and I was quite happy to be shooting. I went to the final dress rehearsal and had the entire place to myself, no seats being used that night. It will be a good time to really understand how I need to set the camera up. The lighting and sound guys told me that the lighting and sound would be set up the same as the nights of the show. As rehearsal begin I would move around snapping images and checking what settings were working and which ones I needed to change. After the 2 and a half hours I spent, I felt like I was ready for this shoot. The next night I was getting ready when Kyla asked if she could come as well (or I may have asked). Knowing that she would shoot the event differently than I would, I thought it would be great to have her shoot there as well. She was very willing to go. We had a great night together shooting the dancers. It was so much fun that Kyla decided she would go back the next night as well. It was a blast, an amazingly fun event for us and although Kyla needed some help with settings, her images a great and the dancers will be happy that I brought her. Now I have the task of going through over 2,100 images. Post processing may take some time. For now here are a few images from each of the nights, stay tuned for more images including some of Kyla’s. Thanks for stopping by and as always, Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

March 25, 2012 at 8:16 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. great post! where are Kyla’s images?

    mrhooie

    March 25, 2012 at 10:29 PM

  2. Good Job Lee!

    loretta Beck

    March 26, 2012 at 2:16 PM

  3. The picture with the chair is on the money. Theater lighting is not always white light and the meter on your camera is going to read it differently. It will give you a blended reading. If you enjoyed your forray in theater and stop action please explore this post. Keep shutter at the equilivent of 125th of a second. Turn your auto off and go to raw image. Use your camera’s meter for the reading and then push your f-stop open one more stop. This should give you a better setting for your pics.

    jim hendricks

    March 27, 2012 at 2:49 PM


Leave a Reply

