Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Summer Travels 2012 – part 19

with 4 comments


I hear the alarm chime at 5:30 am I dress quickly and run outside. I can’t even see the mountains around the campsite, even some of the trees aren’t visible. I run back inside and catch another forty-five minutes of sleep. I hear the alarm again and go through the same routine, this time the sky is clear and it is beautiful. I should have stayed up! I quickly drive to Moraine Lake, I want to catch as much early light as possible. There are only three other people around and two of those are photographers. I am at Moraine Lake for two and one half hours. It was great. I leave and head to Lake Louise but, when I arrive so do the buses of tourists, about six buses. It gets crowded quickly. A grab a couple of shots and head back down toward the village. On the way I see a couple black bears. I head back to the campsite as we have to be out by 11:00 am. We pack up and head out. Edson, Alberta is our next stop. We drive north on highway 93 through Jasper National Park. On the way we stop at Peyto Lake. Peyto Lake is another of those iconic locations and is another that I have never been to before. More advice, if your truck and RV measure fifty-four feet front to back, don’t enter the main parking lot. Just proceed directly to the bus parking. The will save you about seven minutes of walking anyway, lol. We get to the look out and there is about one hundred people. I quickly find a trail down toward the lake and set-up for more mid-afternoon landscapes. After about forty-five minutes we continue north, a quick stop at the Icefields and then we motor on the Edson. Another great day. Here is what I saw at Moraine Lake and Peyto lake. Enjoy, thanks for coming along and as alway Happy Shooting.

Moraine Lake

Moraine Lake

Which of the above do you like better the first or second? There is a debate here about which one.

Moraine Lake from the top of the rock pile trail.

Canoes on the Moraine Lake Lodge dock.

Peyto Lake

Peyto Lake

The second debate! Which do you like the rectangular Peyto Lake or the square one?

Written by leesacrey

July 29, 2012 at 7:00 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those lakes really are picture perfect :).

    jumpingpolarbear

    July 29, 2012 at 7:15 AM

  2. wonderful, wonderful photos, the colours are amazing (:

    thebigbookofdating

    July 29, 2012 at 10:05 AM

  3. The first one.

    loretta Beck

    July 29, 2012 at 5:06 PM

  4. Number one for peyto lake.

    loretta Beck

    July 29, 2012 at 5:09 PM


Leave a Reply

