Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The Sun Also Rises!

leave a comment »


 

After several evenings of sunset shooting it was time to turn on the clock. I post on Facebook asking if anyone wants to shoot sunrise and maybe do a brisk morning hike. I get a quick response from my friend, Trace. Sunrise was scheduled to happen at 5:52 am according to the world-wide web (or 5:51 am according to Trace’s watch, lol). I sent my alarm for 4:30 am and confirm with Trace that he is in for an early morning shoot. Everything is set. After the alarms sound Trace and I head out to the Yellowknife Golf Club. Holes 11 and 12 are on Long Lake and should be great locations for a sunrise shoot. We park near the golf club entrance and walk behind hole 13 and down the 12th fairway to the tee boxes for hole 12. From there we walk between the green for hole 11 and the tee boxes for 12 and end up on a rock outcrop above Long Lake. The sun should rise almost directly across the lake from us. Over night we had some thunder showers and there is still some cloud cover on the horizon. I am hoping that once the sun rises it will burn off any remaining clouds. If not we may just be in for a much longer shoot with the low cloud provide us with a greater amount of time to capture what we are looking for. The wind is strong and the clouds are moving quickly through the sky. The wind actually allows for us to capture the clouds moving. Using long exposure times (with the help of some solid nd and nd grad filters) we can create great skies with great textures. I try to capture some silhouettes of trees and rocks against the sky and as the sun rises higher I try to get some nice reflections on the water. As the morning hits I notice the trees just behind us (and just to the side) are being beautifully lit and I grab some images of the bright colours under the morning sky. I turn back only to see Trace standing directly in front of the rising sun. I quickly set up and ask Trace not to move. The bright sun is just above his head and to try to block it out just a little. I ask Trace to lift his ball cap just over his head. That gets me the shot I want. A silhouette surrounded by nice golden light. After about an hour and a half we decide to go grab a coffee and breakfast. We continue to consider the weather and decide that, between the wind and the wet slippery rock, the five or six kilometre hike to Fox Lake may be better left for another. It was a great morning. Here is a sample of what I saw. Thanks for following and as always, Happy Shooting.

Written by leesacrey

August 22, 2012 at 7:00 AM

Leave a Reply

